Flying Car Becomes a Reality

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

For a hundred years, people have dreamed of a flying car. This week, Dutch company PAL-V which stands for Personal Air and Land Vehicle announced the first flights of its prototype “flying car”.  The first PAL-V should be available for purchase in 2014.

Look for me in the skies!

This entry was posted in News, Really Cool Things and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Flying Car Becomes a Reality

  1. The Real Adam says:

    A Dutch company developed this remarkable car/airplane combo? Well good on them.

    Too bad it wasn’t an American company but American companies don’t do much these days unless it is related to war and killing people. What a shame.

  2. Rachel says:

    I would so love to have a PAL-V! California traffic is just awful and is getting worse all the time. The idea of flying over and above it is like I’m living in the Jetsons world. I wonder how much one will cost? Even if it is expensive, it would be worth it to me.

  3. Mauigirl says:

    I saw that – although beyond my means! I think they said it would cost about $250k! But we all know these things do come down in price! We may yet be the Jetsons!

  4. Bruce says:

    Planes and highways and parking lots don’t mix well. Not that one can;t drive a plane or fly a car, that’s simple. The hard part is protecting it when it’s in the highway and parking lot. Maybe they have better drivers there than they do here. Aircraft can’t just be bumbed out and filled with bondo but I’m anxious to see how this works out. I’m also trying to imagine the insurance cost for this.

  5. Estacada says:

    I predict master planned communities springing up like golf communities in 2012 that cater to people who want to drive and fly from home to their destination.

    It’s a brave new world. Whether the USA will participate or if the future belongs to Chinese buyers remains to be seen.

  6. DMason says:

    Sign me up too. I would love a flying car. I am so tired of bumper-to-bumper freeway traffic every morning and afternoon. Plus, it’s wearing my car out.

  7. Adirondacky says:

    In theory, I like the idea but in reality, aren’t the skies already crowded with commercial flights?

Leave a comment