Obama v. Bush: a Study in Contrasts

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

President Barack Obama arrived in Saudi Arabia on Wednesday and met King Abdullah during his first stop in Riyadh. The two men warmly shake hands.

obamakingabdullah

Back on November 14, 2008, former President George Bush stuck his tongue down King Abdullah’s throat during a meeting of the G20 nations at the White House.

bush_kiss_saudi

I don’t know about you but, I am much more comfortable with the formality President Barack Obama brought to the meeting. Former President George Bush? Not so much. In fact, the Bush/Abdullah tongue dance made me want to hurl.

This entry was posted in Bush, International News, News, Politics, President Barack Obama and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Obama v. Bush: a Study in Contrasts

  1. stradella says:

    Christopher – ROFL!

    As a black woman, I can tell you Michelle would have gone on blast if Barack had tongue kissed this Saudi King!

    Black woman don’t share their husbands. I don’t care who it is.

  2. Dmitris says:

    A friend of mine said if he was married to Laura Bush, King Abdullah might look good to him too. But what really pissed me off about the love fest between these two was this. Bush tried to get the Congress to pass a constitutional amendment to outlaw gay marriage. But it’s OK for Bush to French kiss this Arab sultan? What am I missing?

  3. The Magus says:

    Let me inform you what bowing to the King of Saudi Arabia signifies. It is nothing less than being subservient not only to the King, but to Islam. Your powers of observation seem corrupted by your disdain for Bush but you gloss over the glaring fact Obama showed the Muslim world, his true loyalities. Now, I assure you I wear no tin hat but try to digest the facts. He apologized for USA, appeased Muslims, denigrated Christianity in Turkey and his EU trip was nothing but a glaring signal to Muslims that he is in their camp. I hope you also caught Jake Tappers article which finally reveals Obama’s Muslim past is no longer being denied. Today we learn this admin leaked the exact locations of all our nuclear power sites and yet can believe that was just an error???. The enemy “within” has conned the Liberals so well they believe up is down and when its too late, blame yourselves for being lulled into this ignorant stupor. Be vigilent, question every policy and the hidden agendas within. I protested Bush for 8 long years and if I was worried when he held power in WH, I am now downright alarmed by Obama and who this man really is. One more thing to ponder. If Obama is such a devout Christian which he claims, it makes noooo sense he is pro-choice or even more to the point, for late term abortions. No folks this is not a Christian, this is a sheep in wolves clothing.

  4. Rachel says:

    I remember Bush and King Abdullah kissing. I saw it at a sports bar and everyone started laughing at them. Not because of the gay overtones but because Bush is such a damned homophobe and hypocrite and there he was, almost bending over for an Arab oil sheik. It was totally disgusting and exemplified all we had suffered beginning in January 2001.

  5. Prairiedog says:

    The Magus each and everyone of the radical, AM radio talking points in about Obama.

    All he/she/it left out is, Obama killed Jon Benet Ramsey, is the Zodiac Killer, and responsible for global warming, gray hair and weight gain after the age of 40.

    Too funny.

  6. Joaquin says:

    Prairiedog – I think what brought the loons out of hiding is President Obama dared to tell Abdullah, “Shoukran,” using the Arabic word for “Thank you.”

    They don’t mind if George Bush french kissed Abdullah but if President Obama uses the Arabic word for “Thank you,” they go ape shit crazy.

  7. The sad truth of the matter is that Bush was not homophobic, in fact if you read from certain inside sources most of the Bush White House was fine with gay people.

    They just used and demonized them for political purposes but knew it would go no where in terms of political change and just satisfy their base. In my mind that’s worse than actually Jesse Helms hatred.

  8. Woodcliffe says:

    Have we really reached this point in the U.S. when our president says “thank you” in Arabic and the conspiracy freaks claim it’s evidence that Obama is a closet Muslim?

    God forbid what these nuts would have alleged if they were around back when Jack and Jacqueline Kennedy were in the White House and Mrs. Kennedy spoke perfect French to Charles de Gaulle.

    I can only imagine it: “Mrs. Kennedy is a secret French spy working against the U.S. during the Cuban missile crisis.”

  9. panasit (the Original) says:

    What sort of nonsense is this? George W. Bush, not homophobic? Is this a lame attempt at satire?

    The president who advocated a Constitutional Amendment to ban same-sex marriage in all 50 states?

    I will defer to Howard Dean when it comes to George W. Bush’s homophobia.

    Dean, although a Democrat, complimented President Bush, saying he “ran a great campaign” and was “very disciplined,” comparing him to former Serbian President Slobodan Milosevic, at least in one regard.

    “The truth is the president of the United States used the same device that Slobodan Milosevic used in Serbia. When you appeal to homophobia, when you appeal to sexism, when you appeal to racism, that is extraordinarily damaging to the country.”

    Dean continued.

    “I know George Bush. I served with him for six years [as a fellow governor]. He’s not a homophobe. He’s not a racist. He’s not a sexist. In some ways, what he did was worse, because he knew better.”

    What Dean is describing is evil.

  10. bradfrmphnx says:

    What The Sheik!!

    Okay I’m confused. I don’t see a tongue, but they sure look like they are locking lips. As a strait man I wouldn’t be comfortable with that. Although I am not bothered if gays show their affection for each other.

    My point is that if this picture is for real, Bushy loves oil more than he is letting on.

  11. Jim says:

    How VILE is Bush!

  12. Conejo1982 says:

    I find it quite ironic that the Chimp would have tried to push a constitutional amendment to ban gay marriage when everyone knows that he, Bush, carried on a three year relationship with the male whore, Jeff Gannon, while Pickles was out of town.

    The Bush apologists can save their lung space because the White House security logs were released and made public. They show Jeff Gannon signing in on Friday nights and singing out either late Sunday night or Monday.

    And always — always, it was when Pickles was away. Fucking freak.

  13. Bee says:

    “The Magus” said:
    No folks this is not a Christian, this is a sheep in wolves clothing.

    Thank the fucking dog – if we’re lucky, he’s really a closet atheist.

    Christopher: That photo almost made my pee myself! 🙂

  14. Robster says:

    LOL! Good one, Chris.

    I think the big difference is the Saudis own Bush and Obama is his own man.

  15. JollyRoger says:

    Indeed, sometimes man love ain’t such a beautiful thing…

  16. lea-lea says:

    While I have been critical of President Obama lately, he’s at least 100,000 times more professional and classy than that pig from Texas, George Bush.

    World leaders don’t suck face — period.

    Even when you’re sucking oil out of Abdullah’s asshole.

  17. libhomo says:

    The style may be different, but the substance was not. Both of them are kissing up to our Saudi creditors.

  18. kelsosnuts says:

    I am an anti-Zionist Jew who believes in the Two-State Solution and the concept of “pan-Semitism.” That means that I don’t approve of the Israeli government ethnically-cleansing and oppressing their own Semitic cousins for the crimes of White Christians in Europe.

    With reference to this, both Bush and Obama have favored the AIPAC-PNAC support of the now 1-Party Theocratic Authoritarian Israeli government policy. Both Bush’s and Obama’s toadying to their Saudi masters makes both Israel and the Palestinian Israeli citizens of the Occupied Territories extremely un-safe from Fundamentalist Islamic terrorists.

    I don’t think there’s anything good in Obama’s Egypt showmanship either. Egypt is a US-client state which is the site of many US “black-ops” concentration/torture/death camps like GITMO is. (Well, GITMO is a “white ops” concentration/torture/death camp.

    Furthermore, Egypt has refused all Palestian refugees because the US and Israel don’t want them to accept the refugees.

    How I define my Jewish-ness — not Judaism because I’m an atheist — is probably disturbing to American liberals as well as Republicans but I do have the freedom to believe what I like and to choose what I do with my body and life as a South American resident.

    I would not have those freedoms in the US. I would, however, have financial problems because of (as libhomo notes) the Saudi co-ownership with the PRC of the USA.

  19. The Magus says:

    Hey Chris, my point was he sold you lies about being a devout Christian and you bought it like a good Obama pod. I believe he is an atheist in fact and his 20 yrs attending Wrights Black Separatist Church was politically motivated. I am amused however, he spent so much time on his FIGHT THE SMEARS site fighting allegations about his Muslim background and now he can’t embrace it enough. He’s fascinating to watch as he appeases the Muslim world while denigrating USA. Is it safe to use his middle name now without being called a racist? Obama enjoys using it AFTER he was elected. lmaoooo I am grateful I left this party and the vile stench of hypocrisy far behind me. Both parties stink but the Left has been complict in crowning the biggest political fraud in our nations history.

  20. Hey The Magus,

    If you are familiar with my blog and my comments, you would know I have been very critical of our new president on a variety of issues.

    Do I think Obama is preferable to John McCain or Hillary Clinton? Hands down, no question and I do not regret voting for Obama.

    But, I am not “a good Obama pod” as you inaccurately want to label me, nor am I an Obamaholic. Obama is worthy of praise on many issues (reversing Bush’s immoral ban on stem cell research and Bush’s signing statements) and equally worthy of criticism on many issues (his delay in repealing DADT and supporting FISA.)

    This is the difference between people on the right, who never dare to criticize their president because they’re too busy marching in lock-step and people on the left who believe it’s our duty to hold our president accountable.

    I hope this helps clarify things.

  21. Money and power make people do crazy things.

  22. VicoDANIEL says:

    Christopher,

    You have the patience of a saint. This is why I don’t start a blog. I would wind up driving everyone away in a week.

    The dynamic you explain is so important.

    Those of us on the left do feel an obligation to keep our elected lawmakers and even our president “real.” Conservatives mistake this for drinking the koolaid — it’s actually the opposite.

    In any case, keep up the good work.

    vicodaniel1987@yahoo.com

  23. maji says:

    Magus,
    So what if it was a bow? Big whoop! I did not view it as the POTUS subjugating America and American principles. I saw it as observing the cultural etiquette of the Saudis, nothing more, nothing less. I did not “read” anything into it. I would hope that any POTUS would be aware of the culture of any nation he visits and abide by it. It shows respect and tolerance for the cultures of people who are different from us and indicates a sensitivity towards the people who are a part of that culture/nation. Observing the cultures of others when you are in their country, IMO, can open up avenues for dialogue. I also do not condemn Bush for the kiss because I think that as POTUS at the time, he handled it as he saw fit, and besides, the kiss did not diminish my quality of life in ANY way. I’m open-minded and a realist, and that kiss did not make me ashamed to be an American or ashamed of Bush as our president at the time. And no, I’m not an Obamabot. In fact, I really don’t know exactly what the term alludes to because I feel free to criticize the actions of any POTUS because, in this sociey, I am free to do so.

  24. Pingback: Words Into Deeds? Obama Speaks to Middle East « Mark Riley Media

  25. The Magus says:

    Chris, I agree with you on his support of stem cell research and give him credit when due. As far as signing statements I think you overlooked what he did with Omnibus spending bill where “he reserved the right to bypass dozens of disputed provisions.” But most glaring is his DOJ asserting Sovereign Immunity for this administration which expands Bush’s abuses of power. He did promise to protect our civil rights did he not? Then explain to me how is that possible when he took away rights of Americans to file lawsuits if their civil rights are violated? His yes vote for FISA was the turning point for me and this further abuse of power is blatantly clear the last thing he wants to protect is our civil rights.

  26. as long as this country is beholden to our “arab benefactors” for oil – you will see all these displays of respect. much of saudi society is truly repulsive – the way they treat women, the way they think of jews etc. — but we have bowed down to the god of oil, not the king.

    there are tons of things i disagree with obama already – but like christopher said – hands down he is the best we have right now. and there is no way he is a closet muslim or using his muslim roots to justify his actions.

    again as long as we treat oil as king – we are forced to do and say things as a people and nation that are truly wrong.

    it is ALL about economics and nothing else

  27. Pingback: Dangers of Allah

  28. Pingback: Amil Imani » Blog Archive » America: Break the Silence on Islam

  29. Pingback: America: Break the Silence on Islam | Amil Imani

  30. Pingback: America, Break Silence on Islam – Islam-Watch

Leave a comment