“Senate Candidate 5” Offered to Pay $1 Million for Obama’s Senate Seat

Thursday, December 11, 2008

According to the FBI affidavit in the case, emissaries for “Senate Candidate 5,” AKA, Rep. Jesse Jackson Jr., offered Blagojevich up to $1 million dollars  for the vacated U.S.Senate seat formerly held by President-elect Barack Obama.

Describing the offer in an October 31 conversation recorded by the FBI, Blagojevich said:

“We were approached ‘pay to play’. That you know, he’d raise me 500 grand. An emissary came. Then the other guy would raise a million, if I made him [Senate Candidate 5] a senator.”

This blogger predicts Rep. Jesse Jackson Jr.’s Congressional career is officially over.

This entry was posted in Democrats, Douchebags, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to “Senate Candidate 5” Offered to Pay $1 Million for Obama’s Senate Seat

  1. JollyRoger says:

    It’s a damn shame, but let this scum get what he deserves, and it shouldn’t stop with his Congressional career ending.

  2. DMason says:

    Since I have to go to work and slave away for a paycheck, I’m always stunned at the sums of money people seem to have access to. I’m really in the wrong profession. I will never have $1 million to buy a house, an airplane or a senate seat.

  3. Tiny Dancer says:

    Join the club , David.

    Most people don’t have a $1 million dollars just laying around either.

  4. Rachel says:

    What’s a Congressman’s salary? $165,000 a year? How does he have $1 million to give to Blago? These amounts are out of whack with reality. Someone has to be helping him along. Surely Papa Jackson doesn’t have that kind of money? I’m with David. I go to work M-F and I have a college education and I don’t have an extra ‘mil’ sitting in the bank to play with.

  5. Elvis Lives says:

    I heard President-elect “O” today and he made it very clear that he had next to no contact with the governor.

    I believe him. Obama’s a smart guy. He’s not going to risk his political career for this slimball Blagojevich.

  6. Nan Yun says:

    What happened to getting ahead as the result of your brain, education, accomplishments and work ethic?

    This is whorish.

  7. Randy Arroyo says:

    I’ll play Devil’s advocate here. Tell me if you think I’m crazy. Is it possible Blagojevich is just imagining this stuff? I would sure hate to damn a good man like the young Jackson based on the rantings of a governor who sounds like he’s not playing with a full deck.

  8. Mauigirl says:

    I never can believe these politicians who seem to get into politics for the sole purpose of enriching themselves! It is such a foreign way of thinking to me. You wonder how they were born this way, without a conscience. Strange.

    Randy, interesting point. This governor is quite the nutjob so you never know if he’s all there. I assume if Jackson wasn’t involved the ‘truth will out’ as they say.

  9. Jim says:

    What a pity. It seems no one is what he or she seems, especially in politics.

  10. No Nonsense says:

    I want to know who is this emissary? BTW Rachel, Papa Jackson does have this kind of money and/or the ability to raise it.

  11. there is much more to these stories about Blago — i just know it. the man is delusional. what i dont understand is why he hasnt been tossed — what process? impeach, toss him out or whatever already

Leave a comment