Obama’s Iowa Victory Speech

“You know, they said this day would never come. They said our sights were set too high. They said this country was too divided, too disillusioned to ever come together around a common purpose.”

This entry was posted in Barack Obama, Democrats, Election 2008, News. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Obama’s Iowa Victory Speech

  1. Larry says:

    It was good to see Hillary grobble.

  2. Rachel says:

    What an inspirational speech! Obama touched on so many themes and images. I love the image of the first black Americans who sat at the lunch counter. This man knows how to make me cry!

  3. DMason says:

    I feel hopeful. It’s been a long, long time since I felt hopeful. Maybe not since 1992 when Bill Clinton was elected. I know we have a long way to go to November but I think Obama will pull it off.

  4. dad2059 says:

    Hate to be a wet blanket people, Huckabee won Iowa also.

    That in itself says alot.

    Stay focused. Remember what your fight is about.

  5. i am glad Huckabee won — it really throws the entire GOP contest into a fray……

    i also think this ends the tour of duty of Hillary — she can retire to the poop deck after she finishes 3rd in NH also……

  6. nytexan says:

    What a great speech and what a huge message “white” Iowa sent to the rest of the country..

    I am more thrilled that (s)Hillary came in third. I hope Obama and Edwards keep first and second place across the primaries. I don’t care which guy place where as long as the shill is at the bottom.

  7. mary ellen says:

    Obama is great with inspirational speech. I wouldn’t get too caught up in his side show speeches. You’ll see, he’ll hand over the store to the Republicans if he’s president. Don’t be surprised to see Lieberman in his administration either, he supported him in the 2006 election. He has “great admiration” for Joe. That’s the kind of compromise you’ll get.

    I’m happy that he’s given his supporters something to smile about, but mark my word…if that guy is president, there will be no change and we won’t be out of Iraq while he’s in office. I can guarantee it.

  8. I am thrilled ! thrilled i tell ya ! Its nice to finally feel some real hope. YAY TEAM. I think that Edwards would be a great VP and yes there are huge corporate business interests to overcome..and it will take time BUT the people are sick of getting the short end of the stick. And this hope is not based on wishful thinking. Cause if this country does NOT do an abrupt about face in direction , and if we do ,it may not be soon enough , things are gonna tank SOOO bad, it won’t be inner city riots , it will be massive unrest. Our constitution was founded really to “keep the Middling class of freed WHITE indentured servents ” calm. Well the “middling class” is NOT very happy these days. so we will see change. And this idiotic murderous occupation in Iraq will wind down. Yep , yep.

  9. Winnie H. says:

    I was initially concerned about any Lieberman connection as well, but I did a little reading about Obama, and he’s more liberal than most people realize.

    His voting record is the 10th most liberal in the Senate and the most liberal of all of the candidates.

    http://www.majorityrules.org/blog/2007/03/senator-barack-obama-more-liberal-than.html

    (I don’t know if this link will work directly, but anyone interested could copy and paste.)

    But here’s an excerpt:

    “Senator Obama also has a higher liberal rating than any other Senator running for President this year. The National Journal has just released its 2006 annual ratings of Congress based on roll call votes on key economic, social and foreign policy issues.

    When the New York Times political blog compared their lifetime scores they came up with the following ranking:

    Senator Barack Obama………………….84.3
    Representative Dennis Kucinich……..79.4
    Senator Christopher J. Dodd ………….79.2
    Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton ……78.8
    Senator Joseph R. Biden, Jr……………76.8”

    And as to Lieberman, Obama did not choose him to be his mentor, as many have said. He was chosen for him, and Obama only had one meeting with him over lunch as a result. So that’s the only connection I could find.

    My hope is that Obama has the ability to say what needs to be said to bring all kinds of people together to vote for him, but when he gets the opportunity, his liberal views will be the backbone of his policies. If this is true, it will be refreshing to have someone from the Democrats who can actually pull that off. Bill Clinton did it, but he and Hillary are much more centrist in their history than Obama has ever been.

    As to Iraq, maryellen, I hold no illusions that any of the candidates would get us out of Iraq quickly. But of all of the viable candidates, at least Obama is the one who opposed the war from the start. That’s a positive sign for me, and enough of a reason at least to give him the chance and see what he could do.

  10. feminazi says:

    I’m older than most of you kids here. I remember JFK’s victory speech. I remember Bobby’s speech after MLK was assassinated. Brack Obama’s Iowa speech was every bit as good. He brought chills to me and I realized what a gifted orator he is and how this skill serves him.

  11. missprofe says:

    I made my way to your blog via The Field Negro. I liked your comments over there.

    Sen. Obama’s speech was a piece of political artistry. And, his victory in Iowa is significant.

  12. California Dreamin' says:

    What a magnificent speech.

    Obama has so many gifts to offer. He’s smart, informed and decent. He has extraordinary oratory skills and he suggests a younf MLK.

  13. enigma4ever says:

    THANKS FOR HAVING THE SPEECH HERE… I spend way to much time at cspan..
    WOW..such an amazing speech…really breathtaking..

Leave a comment