Wal-Mart Goes Homophobe

Wal-Mart, the world’s largest retailer, has decided to terminate its support of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender (GLBT) organizations after conservative Christian groups threatened a boycott, and after some of its own employees expressed disapproval.

The move comes a year after Wal-Mart had put on a gay-friendly smile. The company joined the National Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce, sponsored the annual convention of Out & Equal, a group that promotes gay rights in the workplace, and even sold gay-themed jewelry in stores.

“We are not currently planning corporate-level contributions to GLBT groups,” said Mona Williams, the company’s senior vice president of corporate communications. Individual stores can still donate to gay groups.

This entry was posted in Gay and Lesbian, Human Rights, News, Religious Nutcases. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wal-Mart Goes Homophobe

  1. Sandy A. says:

    The list of reasons not to shop at WalMart was already long but now it just got longer. I didn’t know WalMart had ever been gay-friendly so this comes as a surprise to me. But learning they buckled to complaints from the religious right for supporting the gay community makes them all the more dispicable in my view.

  2. Harry says:

    Wal Mart is after all, headquarted in Arkansas. Ground zero for the Bible Belt. I never shop there anyway.

  3. kayinmaine says:

    Boycott Wal-Mart.

  4. VicoDANIEL says:

    I can proudly say I’ve never been to a Wal Mart.

    Not that I’m too good to shop there but, I was born and raised in the city and we never had one of them to shop at. I think there may be a Wal Mart now out in Queens, but I’m not sure.

    Anyway, they really are cowards to cave like this to the Bible thumper. It sends a message to other businesses that it’s “OK” to be pushed around by a small group of wingnuts spouting Scripture.

  5. bliss says:

    Reason no. 12,748 to hate WalMart.

  6. taco says:

    Wal-Mart is planning to open a huge (30,000 sqft.)store in the Green Zone in Baghdad to serve the 5,000 Americans who will live and and work permanently in the new U.S. Embassy.

    Why would they care about the LGBT community when they have Baghdad?

  7. Idaho Librul says:

    Think about the demographics of who shops at WalMart:

    1. straight
    2. 2 to 3 kids
    3. go to church Sunday morning
    4. shop at WalMart Sunday afternoon

    The swath of Jesusland that encompasses Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and the southern states. These folks don’t take kindly to gay people.

    My policy is to avoid WalMart.

  8. TomCat says:

    I’d like to say I will boycott Wal-Fart in support, but I can’t. I have refused to shop there for a long time now.

  9. Suzie-Q says:

    I never shop at Wal-Mart.

  10. mirth says:

    You’ll nevah catch me in Wal-Mart.

    And this is one more reason why.

  11. How is this not surprising? It seems like everyone caves after far right religious groups get them on radar and commence attack.

    We need a two-fold response. A way to support any organization thus targeted, and a way to fight right back when an organization chooses bigotry over rights.

  12. bloggernista says:

    I went to Wal Mart one and simply could not deal. The number of elastic waistbands and Crocs was too much for the homo to bear. What kills me about Wal Mart is that people think that they are getting great deals, when really Wal Mart is lowering the wages and benefits across whole markets with their pricing demands. Its shameful.

Leave a comment