With Friends Like This: Ed Rendell Supports Alito Nomination

It’s not often Connect Left cites a Republican news source, but since mainstream and leftwing news sources aren’t reporting this factoid, there’s little choice.

Former DNC Chairman, Governor Ed Rendell (D-PA) Supports Judge Alito

Former DNC Chairman, Governor Ed Rendell [D-PA]: “I Believe He’s A Qualified Judge. He Sits On The Third Circuit Court Of Appeals In Philadelphia. I Don’t Know If You Know This … My Wife Is A Third Circuit Court Judge.”

Fox News’ Bill Hemmer: “I’m Aware Of That, And Your History In Philadelphia Should Give You Pretty Good Knowledge Of Him.”

Rendell: “Right. She Has A High Opinion Of His Integrity And His Academic Standards. She Disagrees With Him On A Number Of Cases And Agrees With Him On Some. I Disagree With A Lot Of His Positions On Cases, But I Think The Tests Should Always Be One Party Wins The Election. As Long As The Supreme Court Justice Is Appointed Who Has High Academic Qualifications, Significant Integrity And Judge Alito Certainly Does, We Should Confirm Him Regardless Of Our Disagreement On The Way He May Interpret One Aspect Of The Law. I Think We’ve Fallen Into Such Partisanship In D.C., Not Just In This But In So Many Things, That It’s In Some Way Ways Tearing The Country Apart.”

Hemmer: “[H]ow Do You Think Your Democratic Colleagues Did On This Committee During This Process? Were You Proud Of Them?”

Rendell: “[I] Wasn’t Pleased. Certainly Some Did Well But Some Didn’t. I Wasn’t Pleased At The Nitpicking. I Think We Need To Go Back To The Days [When] One Party Wins. No One Fought Harder For John Kerry Than I Did … But [President Bush] Won The Election, And As Long As They Give Us Qualified Candidates … Sam Alito, Unanimously Recommended By The American Bar Association, A Qualified Judge.”

At least we now know that Ed Rendell is a DINO (D.emocrat I.n N.ame O.nly) and should be held in suspicion from this day forward.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment