Looney Tunes Eastwood Now Claims He Meant to Talk to An Empty Chair

Friday, September 7, 2012


Clint Eastwood Addresses an Imaginary President Barack Obama at the RNC

Remember when 82-year old Hollywood actor and director Clint Eastwood took to the stage at the Republican Convention last week in Tampa, FL and proceed to have a conversation with an imaginary President Barack Obama?

The stunt proved to be the most talked about event at an otherwise stale, moribund gathering of overwhelmingly white, Mitt Romney supporters.

Well, looney tunes Eastwood now claims he meant to talk to an empty chair:

“There was a stool there, and some fella kept asking me if I wanted to sit down. When I saw the stool sitting there, it gave me the idea. I’ll just put the stool out there and I’ll talk to Mr. Obama and ask him why he didn’t keep all of the promises he made to everybody.”

OK Clint, if you say so. However, not everyone thought the improvisation was a good thing to do.

Bob Schieffer of CBS said it was, “a big mistake to put Clint Eastwood on before Mitt Romney.”
Chris Cillizza of the Washington Post said, “He hemmed. He hawed. He mumbled. He rambled.”
Andrea Mitchell of NBC was shocked, “I have to say, as a fan, a movie fan, this was exceedingly strange. It just seemed like a very strange, unscripted moment.”
Rachel Maddow said on MSNBC, “That was the weirdest thing I’ve ever seen at a political convention in my entire life.”

My favorite reaction to Eastwood was from Democratic Sen. Tom Harkin of Iowa, who called him, “the perfect icon of the Republican tea party: an angry old white man spewing incoherent nonsense.”

This entry was posted in 2012 Election, Clint Eastwood, News, Politics, Republican Lunatics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Looney Tunes Eastwood Now Claims He Meant to Talk to An Empty Chair

  1. The Real Adam says:

    82 year old Clint Eastwood is showing wear on his treads.

    I have seen my grandparents — similar in age, display some bizarre, if not alarming behavior and when I ask them about it, they’re quick to deny it, almost as if they think my family plans to place them in a nursing home.

  2. Brigadoon says:

    I loved the Dirty Harry series but now I’ve lost all respect for the guy. When I see him on TV (he has a new movie in theaters), I just cringe and look away. It’s a shame, really.

  3. Zarathustra says:

    So Sad…… The devastating effects of Altzheimers desaease………….

  4. Rachel says:

    Eastwood is a creative guy. Maybe he’s telling the truth? On the other hand, his antics suggested he had taken an Ambien and the loopy effects hadn’t worn off yet.

  5. Harry says:

    “Go ahead, make my chair.” Grandpa Clint

  6. Abbey Peripatetic says:

    Did everyone read the source in the link? Clint Eastwood went on to say this:

    [Obama] “the greatest hoax ever perpetrated on the American people.”

    Code for he was born in Kenya, Indonesia or on Mars but not in Hawaii. Eastwood is a doddering, old racist. He can go straight to hell as far as I’m concerned.

  7. Seabec says:

    If Romney wins on Nov. 6th, he can always appoint Clint Eastwood to be US Ambassador to Iraq.

  8. Pechanga says:

    Well, la de da, Clint.

    You’ve joined the Pantheon of crazy, Hollywood wingnuts like Tom Selleck, Chuck Norris, Fred Thompson, Kelsey Grammer, Patricia Heaton and Jon Voight.

  9. DMason says:

    Pechanga – And Jessica Simpson! :-) :-) :-)

  10. ChiTOM says:

    Eastwood: “I know what you’re thinking pink. You’re thinking it was an empty chair. Well, punk, it was stacked to the rafters with my newest order of Metamucil.”

    Time to retire, Eastwood.

  11. TM Sphere says:

    Strains of Ted Nugent is swirling in Eastwood’s ancient brain. What a moron.

  12. Scott Dancer says:

    A couple of points about Clint Eastwood’s endorsement of Mitt Romney.

    1.) Eastwood says he’s pro-marriage equality. Is he aware of the fact Romney wants Constitutional amendment to ban same-sex marriage?

    2.) Eastwood said President Obama is the greatest hoax ever perpetrated on the American people. Does he comprehend what he’s saying? This is Birther language Orly Taitz would cheer.

    I used to like Clint Eastwood. No more. He’s despicable.

  13. Randy Arroyo says:

    Screw Clint Eastwood.

  14. fran says:

    “A true WTF moment”
    ” Old man prattles on for about 12 minutes of our lives, we will never get back again”
    “Disheveled, Dithering, Dunderhead- a true representation of the GOP”
    “Go ahead Clint Eastwood, make the RNC a laughing stock”

  15. Joe in Colorado says:

    Am I the only one who finds it curious that we’re talking about Clint Eastwood and not Mitt Romney? I can’t recall any other convention who so totally stole the show from the number one guy as did this 82 year old actor. Clint Eastwood is all we remember from the RNC.

  16. feminazi says:

    Clint Eastwood is not representative of people over 65 years of age. I’m 68 and I don’t talk to empty chairs. I talk to my kids, nephew, grandkids, neighbors, friends and my dog but not empty chairs. I resent the image of older people being mentally impaired. Clint Eastwood does not represent me.

  17. Michael says:

    Unfortunately Andrea Mitchell (conveniently) failed to mention that Clint Eastwood feels that Obama has been the worst President in history. MSNBC has to be one of the most bias news agencies in history.

  18. retahyajyajav says:

    I can’t decide if Eastwood is crazy or brilliant? Maybe he was really trying help Obama?

  19. Michael,

    Not even close. FOX Noise is the most bigoted, biased and slanted “news” channel on earth. Worse than Pravda Radio, al Jazeera, or Radio Pyongyang.

    The nitwits on FOX Noise cheerfully reported the DNC moved convention indoors so people wouldn’t get wet from rain because God was angry at the Dems for ‘purging’ his name from the DNC platform.

    Even Iran and the Islamic clerics wouldn’t say something this stupid.

Leave a Reply

