Keith Olbermann Given “Carte Blanche” for Current-TV’s Election Night Coverage

Monday, January 9, 2012

Sources report Keith Olbermann has been given ”carte blanche” by Current-TV to completely plan and program the channel’s 2012 presidential election coverage.

Following Olbermann’s near-total absence from TV coverage of the GOP Iowa Caucus, rumors bubbled up that the outspoken commentator and Current-TV had lawyered up in preparation of a split but, it appears all differences have been resolved.

Current-TV is wise to not lose Olbermann’s unique media brand. He controls a large and dedicated viewer audience and having him onboard will help raise Current-TV’s rather lowly cable profile.

Keith Olbermann took to his Twitter to announce:

“I am pleased that I’ll be running the election coverage on Current, following this Tuesday’s New Hampshire primary.”

This entry was posted in 2012 Election, Cable News, Keith Olbermann, News, Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Keith Olbermann Given “Carte Blanche” for Current-TV’s Election Night Coverage

  1. feminazi says:

    Indeed! Very good news. I can’t stand CNN or MSNBC now. I will be watching Current on election night and with Keith in charge, I expect great coverage.

  2. TOM339 says:

    I agree with feminazi. Having Keith in charge of general election coverage on Current TV is great.

    Can’t be bothered with CNN’s or MSNBC’s political coverage and FOX is a bad joke. I actually find the short bursts of newsoids (is that a word?) on the NBC Nightly News with Brian Williams better political coverage than anything on cable.

    Does anyone know if MSNBC lost ratings when Keith departed? I don’t know anyone who watches them now. No one I know bothers with CNN either.

  3. Brigadoon says:

    The New York Times got it wrong. Says Keith will “participate” in election night coverage when in fact, as Christopher says, Keith is running the whole show. I think it is so interesting that the mainstream media continues to be threatened by people like Keith as well as by bloggers. This says oodles about the sloppy journalism happening on 53rd street.

  4. Seabec says:

    Truth be told I am so tired of politics and Republican debates that it will take Keith to make me pay attention to the election. Is anyone else just not feeling 2012?

  5. Marcus Ybanez says:

    TOM339 – I haven’t watched MSNBC since Keith left.

    I’ve seen the network in passing but as far as tuning in and watching Rachel or Tweety, I’m really not interested now. The last time I channeled surfed across cable and landed on MSNBC, they had Michael Steele on yapping about something. I’m not joking.

  6. Unconditional1 says:

    Thank you Chris for reminding me and others that CNN and MSNBC still exist as “media outlets.” The fact that Kieth O. will plan and program that GOP drivel still isn’t enough for me to watch, but it did raise the bar to “noteworthy.” However, I would still rather watch a toilet flush!

  7. Peace Nick says:

    Keith still flies high above the crowd in my book.

  8. Fran says:

    STILL CLEANING UP ELEPHANT DUNG @ THE GOP CIRCUS STINKS ANY WAY YOU LOOK AT IT.

  9. Randy Arroyo says:

    Thank goodness someone came to their senses at Current TV and put Keith in charge of the election coverage. Now, reasonable, like-minded viewers have a place to go on election night. I mean, where else can we go? MSNBC? It will be an orgy of Joe Scarborough and Mika Brzezinski with just drips and drabs of Rachel Maddow. CNN is useless and FOX isn’t news to begin with.

  10. Fantastic put up, very informative. I ponder why the opposite experts of this sector do not notice this. You must proceed your writing. I am sure, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!|What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely useful and it has helped me out loads. I am hoping to contribute & help different users like its helped me. Great job.

Leave a Reply

