Guns a Hot Item on Black Friday

Friday, December 2, 2011

Forget X-Boxes, 3D televisions and smartphones, the hot item this Black Friday was guns. In America, what says Merry Christmas like a firearm?

USA Today reports:

Gun dealers flooded the FBI with background check requests for prospective buyers last Friday, smashing the [previous] single-day, all-time high by 32%, according to bureau records.

Deputy Assistant FBI Director Jerry Pender said the checks, required by federal law, surged to 129,166 during the day, far surpassing the previous high of 97,848 on Black Friday of 2008.

The actual number of firearms sold last Friday is likely higher because multiple firearms can be included in a transaction by a single buyer. And the FBI does not track actual gun sales.

So folks, if you’re struggling with finding that special Christmas gift for your loved one, consider a gun or a rifle.

This entry was posted in Americans, Black Friday, Firearms, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Guns a Hot Item on Black Friday

  1. Rachel says:

    When I think of Christmas and beautifully wrapped gifts under the tree awaiting me, I always hope Santa has brought me a pistol. Then I can fight the urge to kill my sexist boss when I get my next annual performance review and he says I suck because I won’t go out with him.

  2. nonnie9999 says:

    just make sure that you don’t let your dog go xmas shopping.

  3. Harry says:

    Imagine if that broad who pepper sprayed customers at Mao-Mart to get her paws on the discounted X Box had been armed? Is this what Christmas has become?

  4. DMason says:

    Rachel – I hear you. My last boss was so abusive to our regional staff that there were times I wanted nothing more than to shoot him in his ass. But common sense prevailed and today he’s gone. Fired by the corporate office and work is as pleasurable as it used to be.

  5. Mets Fan says:

    I don’t own a gun and don’t feel any need to own one.

    Luckily, I live in a quiet neighborhood surrounded by mostly homeowners who are the original owners and a few younger buyers. Crime is virtually unheard of. I guess I’m extremely fortunate.

  6. feminazi says:

    Utterly bizarre. Why do people have this love affair with guns? I’m 67 years old and have never so much as held a gun. I certainly wouldn’t give my daughters one either.

  7. Fran says:

    Peace on Earth combined w Guns n ammo?
    Ummm no.

  8. ultragreen says:

    So what will be the hot item for Christmas next year? Dynamite?

Leave a Reply

