TX Gov. Rick Perry’s ‘Niggerhead’

Sunday, October 2, 2011

This charming bit of Texas lore comes courtesy of the Washington Post:

In the early years of his political career, Rick Perry began hosting fellow lawmakers, friends and supporters to his family’s secluded West Texas hunting ranch, a place known by the name painted in block letters across a large, flat rock standing upright at its gated entrance: Niggerhead, it read.

According to ranchers who once grazed cattle on the 1,070-acre parcel on the Clear Fork of the Brazos River called it by that name well before Perry and his father, Ray, began hunting there in the early 1980s.

But here’s the take away. The Perry family did not change the name, Niggerhead, for years after it became associated with Rick Perry, first as a private citizen, then as a state official and finally as Texas governor. In fact, as recently as this summer, on the slab-like rock  lying flat, the name is still faintly visible beneath a coat of white paint, remains by the gated entrance to the compound.

This entry was posted in Gov. Rick Perry, News, Niggerhead, Politics, Texas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to TX Gov. Rick Perry’s ‘Niggerhead’

  1. feminazi says:

    You can just imagine Rick Perry and his Klan taking great pleasure saying, “Let’s head out to Niggerhead over the holiday to kill stuff,” and they all laughed and laughed and laughed.

  2. Brigadoon says:

    I wonder if there’s a tall, oak, hanging tree on the property?

  3. R.J. says:

    And I bet it was only painted over once he thought he could win the GOP nomination.

  4. Larry Wilson says:

    Of course everyone reporting this fails to mention that Perry was a Democrat at the time.

  5. Stephen Iversonn says:

    Such a word is not a local colloquialism, as some of Perry’s supporters suggest.

    It is, however, racist and the fact that the name for the ranch stood until the mid-1980’s suggests both the state of Texas and the Perry family, just don’t get it. Can you imagine such a name on a ranch in 1984 in California, or Illinois, or New York?

    Perry’s attitude in the article is rather casual and the humor some expressed is appalling. I have said since Rick Perry crawled out of the governor’s mansion in Austin with his beady eyes set on the White House that he is a local politician and despite the fact local voters elected him three times to serve as Texas governor, once mainstream Americans learn about Perry, they will reject him.

    Although, I’m sure he will garner the KKK and Aryan Nation voting demographic.

  6. Matteo says:

    The reason the Perry family covered up the name is the Feds made ’em do it.

    Texas Journal; On Geographic Names And Cleaning Them Up

    http://www.nytimes.com/1990/02/14/us/texas-journal-on-geographic-names-and-cleaning-them-up.html

    No wonder Rick Perry so dislikes the Federal government.

  7. Arizona Leatherneck says:

    Perry is dropping in the polls like a turd in a commode.

  8. Rachel says:

    1.5 million residents of Texas signed petitions to secede from the Union. If Texas secedes then they are free to use any language to name anything from a town, to a river, to a shopping mall or a ranch, regardless of how offensive it is, because they’re a separate entity and not accountable to the rest of the nation. They can even mint their own currency and call them “Nigger Dollars” and the best thing of all is, the U.S. and the American people can finally be done with Texas.

  9. TOM339 says:

    Herman Cain, the fastest rising star in the Republican presidential field, isn’t buying Rick Perry’s response to the racially charged name of his family manse.

    Cain said this morning:

    “My reaction is that’s just very insensitive. That isn’t a more vile, negative word than the N word and for him to leave it there as long as he did before, I hear, that they finally painted over it, is just plain insensitive to a lot of black people in this country.”

    Get him, Herman!

  10. Eric Equality Kuntz says:

    The party’s over…..
    It’s time to call it a day…..
    They’ve burst your pretty balloon…..
    And taken the moon, away…..
    It’s time to take off your makeup…..
    All dreams must end…..

    Fuck you, Rick Perry. Go back to Texas.

  11. Harry says:

    Eric Equality Kuntz – ROFL! Perfect!

  12. PUMA Lisa 1972 says:

    I can only imagine how Perry privately refers to women, Hispanics, gays, and Jews.

    Perry looks and sounds like an artifact from 1930. He is woefully insensitive and not suited by any measurement to be president. He needs to fold his cards and go home.

  13. Shayne K. says:

    Of course Rick Perry is not presidenti­al material and he in unelectabl­e outside Texas. But, the truth is, I think his shocking revelation might actually help his numbers with some Republicans who hate President Obama because he’s black and they remain convinced he’s a foreigner. That wing of the Republican party is called the Tea Party.

  14. One Fly says:

    I’d like to see a picture of that – present day.

  15. joost says:

    We just survived a two-term president named George W. Bush. How much more horror is the U.S. expected to endure? We need a 100 year moratorium on future presidents if they come from Texas and we certainly don’t another president named Bush.

  16. Idaho Librul says:

    Rick Perry just keeps winning, doesn’t he? He’s become the Charlie Sheen of the GOP!

    First, he pitched the idea of seceding from the USA, if Washington DC didn’t do what he wanted them to do. Talk about acting like a spoiled brat with Sunday church services hair.

    Then, he wrote a book calling Social Security a “ponzi scheme.” Of course, this terrified seniors and the disabled and with good reason. Social Security is a sound system that prevents 65 million from poverty and homelessness.

    His debate performances just keep getting weaker and weaker. His defense of granting the kids of illegal immigrants in-state college tuition went over like a fart in church.

    Now comes the “Niggerhead” story. Give it up, Rick. You’re not going to be president. Even my father in law, who is an arch conservative says you’re a dope.

  17. Big Hank says:

    Rick Perry should be selling men’s clothes at Dillard’s in Dallas. He’s in over his head and makes George W. Bush look like John F. Kennedy by comparison.

    Seriously, who convinced Perry he is presidential material?

  18. Sassy Booty says:

    I would bet you my next welfare check if you broke into the governors mansion and sneaked into Perry’s bedroom, in his jewelry box is a collection of Confederate flag pins.

  19. Marcus Ybanez says:

    What do you expect from a ‘good, old boy’ from West Texas?

    In Throckmorton County, black residents couldn’t buy gas, or food, or find a doctor to care to them when they became sick. No, this wasn’t 1910 — try 1960. The legacy of racism in Texas is as old as the Longhorn bull.

  20. Chad Lebanon says:

    Rick Perry just keeps winning, doesn’t he? He’s become the Charlie Sheen of the GOP!

    ROFL! Winning!

  21. Joe in Colorado says:

    This is what a Rick Perry presidency is about. Strange and bizarre and racist garbage that he will be forced to walk back and distance himself from. I don’t find it amusing. The guy creeps me out and I don’t want him near the White House.

  22. Patricia Irish says:

    I realize things are different in southern states like Texas but I know if I was a guest at a ranch or a farm and the name of the place was Niggerhead, I wouldn’t enter.

    The notion the Perry family enjoy untold numbers of trips there and not until the 1990s did the sign get painted over or removed, says to me they weren’t bothered by the language and didn’t act until Perry ascended to governor.

  23. Claire says:

    OK everyone… you’re all being very stereotypical of Texas based on the fact that it’s a “southern” state”. I’m a Texan myself, I’m a minority, and I’ve never experienced racisim in my life. Unfortunately, racism is something that exists in many places till this day – not just in Texas, and not just in southern states. This story does bother me, but how are we to know all the facts, truly? Perhaps we’ll never know. Please don’t judge Texas because of a story you’ve read in the press or the actions of a few people. Regardless of events in the PAST, what i know of Texas is that it is filled with good people. Texans have as much American pride as any other state. Thanks. Keep it real, people.

  24. Paul Tracy says:

    Claire………………..You’ve NEVER experienced racism??!?

  25. Claire says:

    Paul,
    Honestly, no… nor am I naive, unassuming, or unaware of my surroundings by any means. I’ve never been directly targeted by racism. Different generations of my family may have. And I’m sure different people my age may have, but not I. Bottom line is it exists everywhere so I just ask people stop being so stereotypical. All I’m saying is don’t judge Texas based on this. It’s one story about one person. I have friends of all different races and we all have lots of “Texas Pride” but that pride is these days in no way associated with race superiority. It’s just a pride about where we’re from. It’s what prompted me to write a comment on this article in the first place.

  26. Shirley says:

    Claire, tell “Cousin Rick” that he needs more than a huge prayer meeting to overshadow his contempt for all that God has made. I’m Native American and have never experienced racism in my life–that doesn’t mean that my relatives did not walk the “Trail of Tears.” It means that I have an intolerance for people that are ignorant and use disgusting language to refer to others. Clearly because of my family’s history I know where ignorance leads. Are you naive–no, just self-centered and unconcerned about the hurt and shame that has been visited on others.

  27. stradella says:

    Claire – I am happy you have never experienced racism living in Texas. Racism shoots at the heart of a person’s humanity. It’s ugly and it’s oppressive. I know know, girl.

    I grew up in the south and is why I left after college to live in Chicago and now Los Angeles.

    The town I came up in is still split right down the center: the white folks on one side, the black folks on the other side. While things are a little better, I ask my nieces and nephews — who have white friends as well as black friends, what life for them if like. They break down like this. They know better than get caught on the white side of town after 10p.m. or they will have to deal with Office Bubba.

  28. Claire says:

    Shirley, pump the brakes! How am I self-centered?! My comments “on this article” were geered only towards the reader comments which stated remarks about the state of Texas in general. I don’t condone these allegations made against Perry, AT ALL. Listen – I’m with you! The reason I’ve never experienced racism is because, like you, I surround myself with good company— that being said, Texas isn’t solely filled with people who use that horrible language. That’s all I was saying- don’t judge Texas as a whole based on this. My great grandma was Native American; my other grandparents were Mexican and Spanish… I’m sure my grandparents and parents experienced things they’d rather not talk about. We’re all American and racism has been experienced on all corners. Of course it was wrong, of course we all hate that it has happened and is still happening. Let’s move forward. What matters is that the rock is covered and everyone is aware this is something Americans should not tolerate. We’re all standing up and saying it’s not right! And we should continue to do so. Honey, of course I’m concerned. Of course it matters. For the record, I honestly wouldn’t vote for Perry and I’m not even sure where the facts lie. Please don’t twist my words and be hateful.

  29. Claire says:

    Stradella, thank you! I’m glad too. I pray things continue to get better everywhere.

  30. okjimm says:

    Hey… I heard that Nigger head was a cool place…. Perry invites Dick Cheney for a little hunt….. see, and they sit in a blind….. and then have some captive Hispanic Gay people let loose to shoot at…… C’mon… boys just wanna have fun….

  31. Rendaculous says:

    If the elder Perry didn’t paint over the vile name of their family compound until the 1990’s as locals are telling reporters, then I think it is safe to conclude there’s a casual, laissez-faire attitude within their family when it comes to racism.

    Why am I not surprised by any of this?

  32. Victoria Rowels says:

    What’s In A Name?
    Copyright by Victoria Rowels ©1983, 2011

    What’s in a name? The young student asked.
    And why is the future connected to the past?
    And why does that word that starts with a “N”,
    Incite violence in the most peaceful of men?

    The teacher looked perplexed and didn’t know where to begin,
    To explain that word that starts with a “N”.
    The dictionary seemed like a good place to start,
    But it didn’t even touch upon the most important part.

    How can a volume designed to define,
    Words and phrases formed in the mind,
    Give meaning to and take apart,
    A concept of hate formed in the heart:

    Of men who deny the humanity,
    Of darker hued people who look like me.

    Of men who believe that their lack of melanin,
    Makes them pure and incapable of sin.

    Of men who prayed and held Bibles in their hand,
    While they raped and pillaged humanity’s motherland.

    Of men who built empires, fortunes and fame,
    By promoting a concept we mistakenly call: “a name”.

    What’s in a name? The teacher asked.
    And why is the future connected to the past?
    And why does that word that starts with a “ N”.
    Incite violence in the most peaceful of men?

    The student tried to answer but he was a little confused.
    So he stopped in mid-sentence and asked to be excused.
    The teacher asked the student why he suddenly had to go.
    At first the student looked down and said: “I don’t know”.
    Then the student decided to reveal his newly made plans,
    To go and study the history of all hue-mans.

    What’s in a name?

  33. Abbey Peripatetic says:

    Rick Perry just makes my skin crawl!

    I don’t understand how he was elected governor three times? Don’t people in Texas think or, does his cowboy braggadocio appeal to these people?

    This is not a bright man. But intelligence isn’t a characteristic the people of Texas value as they elected Bush too.

  34. denise coleman says:

    Claire you have experienced racism in your time here on earth. The fact that you refer to your self as a minority means you experience racism. Minority means for what ever reason you do not qualify to be of the majority. So when people see you they see you and respond to you as a minority. Their responses may be positive or negatives but they are responding to a person who is a MINORITY. Now you may chose not to have racism affect you overtly and personally but you have experienced it. When someones uses the color white to mean good such as the hero is in the white hat and the bad man is in the black hat. Or if you are black and have naturally kinky hair that is “bad hair” and in America main stream says you need to have natural straight hair. The fact that words such as nigger, spic, coon, chinc, redskins are adjectives that are still frequently used today to describe a race of people is racism. The site of people walking with lynch posters in reference to President Obama or a poster with a black ape in a tree, both of which were signs held in Texas and other states are signs of racism. As long as these type of behaviors are tolerated then you as an a minority have and will continue to experience racism.
    To ask people to stop being stereotypical is to ask people to stop being racist is a good thing to ask

  35. Kortni says:

    Ok I’m sorry, I guess I will be the one who says it. Who cares? We have a Hooker Oklahoma. No one freaked out about that. And Steven Iversonn, there are racist named places in New York. Nigger Lake, New York is the prime example. I dont see why everyone is so concerned. Especially because he isnt the one who named it.

  36. Northlander says:

    Who cares about grafitti painted on a rock outside a leased hunting area? Trust me. I’ve been called worse. Get a life!

  37. Bill Hussein O'Reilly says:

    Northlander – I’m sure you have, like the product of a brother/sister marriage.

  38. Frank Talk says:

    Come on y’all! Let’s stop just picking on Gov Perry and let’s get all the words of Black inferiority off the U.S. slavocracy grounds:
    Lynch – “Lynchburg, VA” (for their lynchings, river and city/town names)
    “Master” – from military titles and other identity phases
    “Bitch” – from dog and other labels since females were “nigger-bitches”

  39. Linda says:

    Claire either your a liar or someone pretending to be black. I am from Atlanta, I’ve been here for 4 years, and I have never seen so many racist people in my life.

  40. Claire says:

    Denise – it is a bold statement for me to say i haven’t experienced it. I truly haven’t experienced it to where it’s been directed towards me directly. I sat and thought about it again really hard…trying to remember if there was ever any instance that made me feel uncomfortable ever (regarding racism) and here is the only instance I can think of (I’m 26 yrs old now): In high school (when I was 17), the summer before my senior year, my cheerleading squad went to cheer camp in a Jasper, Texas. Before getting there we had learned that 5 years prior to that, a black man in Jasper, TX had been dragged to death by 2 men who were believed to be white supremacists ( you can read about it here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Byrd,_Jr.). I am not African American, nor were there any African Americans on our squad, but I know our whole squad, minority or not (there were some members of Hispanic heritage), was a little afraid to have to be staying in a town (for a week) that had such a violent event happen only 5 years before. We had all discussed our fear of interacting with any locals– we all thought, “wow, that only happened 5 years ago? What kind of people live there?!? I hope we don’t have to interact with any of them!” –and luckily we didn’t have to. I expressed to my best friend (who was Caucasian) that, “They probably don’t like Hispanic people either.” And she told me, “you don’t even look Hispanic” (referring to my light skin and hazel/green eyes). I just laughed nervously and said, “oooook , but I am, fool!” — so, in this sense, i have experienced it in some way. We were all scared.
    BUT the reason i believe I haven’t been directly targeted is probably due to a number of things: I came from a really small town, part of a respected family in the community, and I surrounded myself with good people during my youth, throughout college and after. I know racism is all around us though, and i don’t doubt there are racist people in my small Texas town, but maybe they keep their negative thoughts to themselves? Just because i haven’t experienced it doesn’t mean i think it’s nonexistent; furthermore, it doesn’t mean i am writing it off like “who cares”. I’m not apathetic at all. If i ever saw it happening near me I’d be the first one to speak up and give my 2 cents on how it’s not right. I could probably write an article on this topic. So much to say.

    Linda, I’m not black. I’m 1/8 Native American, Spanish and Mexican heritage (read above). Why would I waste my time lying? I’ll add again: I believe it totally depends on where you are from. In my small Texas town- it’s pretty much unheard of. But in another small Texas town 6 or 7 hours away from where I live- it’s very heard of.

  41. This post gives clear idea in support of the new
    visitors of blogging, that genuinely how to do blogging and site-building.

Leave a Reply

