Ohio Gov. Kasich Signs Law Allowing Guns in Bars

Friday, July 1, 2011

I happen to like Ohio. At least the capital city of Columbus. Columbus is rated by many travel writers as the most underrated, gay-friendly city in America. I am also a fan of the beautiful Zanesville Pottery located on Route 40 just east of Columbus. If I were to move to Ohio, I would move to Columbus.

However, I do not like Ohioans recent choice for governor and here’s why.

On Thursday, Ohio Republican Gov. John Kasich signed into law a bill that allows gun owners in the state to carry concealed weapons into bars and other places where alcohol is served.

The new laws allow residents to carry concealed handguns into licensed establishments in the state, including shopping malls and sporting venues.

Seriously? Guns in shopping malls, at baseball games and in bars? How much money did Gov. John Kasich receive from the NRA to support such a cockamamie measure?

This entry was posted in Guns, John Kasich, Midwest Loon Watch, News, Ohio, Republican Scoundrels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Ohio Gov. Kasich Signs Law Allowing Guns in Bars

  1. The Real Adam says:

    According to what I’ve read, Ohio voters are suffering from profound buyers remorse after foolishly electing John Kasich governor.

    Just a few months into his term and he’s already immensely unpopular with his constituents. In fact, if there was a do-over election today, Kasich would lose by a resounding 15 points. Kasich is just slightly more popular than an outbreak of Ebola. Pay attention people. States like Ohio can’t afford to fuck up like this.

  2. Rich says:

    You dufuses probably live in a state that already allows people with CCW to go into restaurants and bars. That would now be 43 states allow law abiding citizen’s to enter such establishment. Even California allows this. No problems anywhere it is permitted. What makes you think Ohio is any different. You libtards don’t trust “we the people”. Why should we trust you?.

  3. And the problem with that is what exactly? I carry a defensive handgun almost everywhere I travel. I seldom drink but when I do my weapons are securely locked away before I consume my first drop of alcohol.

    I choose to protect myself, my family, & my friends. If some asshat chooses to turn a peaceful afternoon at the mall our the ballpark into a gunfight I don’t want to be unarmed & helpless. When chaos breaks out & seconds count it does not help that the police are only minutes away.

    I choose to carry a defensive handgun because I am by nature a proactive person. I have no problem with anyones choice to not carry. I wish those who choose to be passive & helpless would not try to force that lifestyle on me.

  4. Harry says:

    I see the gun nuts have awakened from their slumber to defend their Second Amendment rights.

  5. Stephen Iversonn says:

    I remember John Kasich from his days in Washington. Think: Michelle Bachmann with a penis.

    Here’s a quick review of Rep. Kasich’s voting record in Congress.

    · voted “YES” on an amendment banning adoptions in District of Columbia by gays.
    · stood with former President George W. Bush supporting calls for a Constitutional Amendment banning marriage equality in all 50 states.
    · voted “YES” on a bill reducing the waiting period for anyone who purchases a gun at a gun show to from 72 hours to 24 hours.
    · opposes public funding of abortions.
    · co-sponsored a bill declaring English the official language of the US.

    I was more than a little taken aback when the people of Ohio elected him governor. Now they’re stuck with him for the next three years.

  6. DMason says:

    Chicken Hammer – If you’re so afraid to go out in a public venue like a Mall or a baseball park that you have to travel like Dirty Harry, why bother to go in the first place? I’ve attended probably 300 baseball games at Dodger Stadium, Angels Stadium and Giants Stadium over the years and I’ve never once felt nervous or afraid. Fans go to watch baseball, and have fun. I can’t imagine feeling as afraid as you. If I did, I would stay home.

  7. TOM339 says:

    I believe in a law abiding person’s right to own a gun. Gun ownership is a reminder to overarching Federal government they can only push the people so far.

    But the problem I have with Ohio’s law as I understand it is this. It’s up to the saloon owner or worker to determine if the customer is 1:) packing, and 2:) to drunk to safely have possession of the gun on the premises. Think about is. This is one more thing that falls to some sap who owns a bar or pub and if things go wrong, you can be certain the owner or the worker will be held responsible if a tragedy takes place.

    Sorry, but I just don’t think concealed firearms belong on customers in drinking establishments.

  8. DMason — You’re missing the point. I’m not afraid to go out without carrying. I wear a seat belt when I drive not because I’m afraid I’m going to be in an accident. I wear a seat belt when I drive in case I do have an accident. It’s called being proactive. Other than the fact that no one knows I’m carrying it is no different than putting on my seat belt when I get in a car. I respect your right to be a victim; I wish you could respect my right to not be a victim.

  9. fran says:

    How long after that new law is enacted before we start hearing about dead people in bars in Ohio? I give it a month, tops.

  10. fran says:

    PS Christopher, You blog date says June 1, not July! Doh! There went another month!

  11. wow says:

    Ok
    So all of you who think you will be helped when some tug walkes in to the mall and the bar and start shooting.How long do you think the law will be to get to help you.I will tell you 10minutes ok you and your family or freind are shoot.Please use you heads so many other state have the same law and the and you can drink in those states but not in ohio….Wow I hope you feel save now..Help Police we where shoot.

  12. Fran,

    LOL! Thanks, corrected!

    My brain is literally fried courtesy of the 118′ heat. I feel like I’m living in Baghdad or Kabul and it’s no fun.

  13. I think I come down along the same lines as TOM339. The ‘right to bear arms’ or to keep arms is enshrined in the text of the United States Bill of Rights.

    But in the Ohio example, why would anyone in their right mind want to bring a loaded, concealed gun to a shopping mall or to a baseball game? This notion that all gun owners are saints and would never tussle with someone, leading to a shootout is nonsense.

    What happens when a confrontation results in an innocent shopper — a child out with their mother, takes an errant bullet and dies? Or a spectator at Jacob Field in Cleveland? This is preposterous on the merits.

    If residents of Ohio are so afraid to leave their home without carrying a concealed firearm, maybe it is time to look for a safer place to call home? They say Eden Prairie, MN is the safest metro area in the country.

  14. feminazi says:

    I’m 68 years old. Retired, have arthritis, and drive a late model Toyota. I honestly don’t feel the least bit under siege when I go to out. I don’t live in fear and find people for the most part, are kind and busy with their lives. Did I mention I live alone? It would never occur to me to carry a concealed firearm to the supermarket or the mall. If things come to this, I’m moving to the Cayman Islands.

  15. Tim says:

    Guns and alcohol do not mix. Many years ago I owned a Bar. I had many off duty cops that would hang out there. (Short version) They would consistently pull their guns out trying to intimidate patrons and each other. One night a off duty cop who happened to hate gays, pulled his gun. The argument went outside and the cop shot him in cold blood. Yeah he died. The cop may still be in jail for all I know.
    This Governor is just asking for trouble and I hope he’s thirsty for a beer one of these days.

  16. The Real Adam says:

    It’s telling that law enforcement groups/agencies in Ohio were uniformly opposed to this bill.

    When a cop is called to respond to a belligerent drunk, the last thing he or she wants to be forced to deal with is a gun the drunk believes gives them courage. I think law enforcement was wise to oppose this bill and Gov. John Kasich should be recalled over his signing it.

  17. lea-lea says:

    My grandfather lives alone on a ranch in rural Tampico Mexico and he’s armed up the wha-zoo.

    The drug cartels have killed nearly 40,000 people since 2006 and he says he doesn’t plan to be their next victim. Mexico is a lawless mess today and people fear for their lives. But he refuses to sell his land and move to California. I fear for his safety.

    But in the U.S., we don’t need guns in bars and in shopping malls. This is a recipe for disaster.

  18. I understand the arguments against expanding the concealed carry laws but history from the past two decades has proven the arguments false. This is not a personnel challenge to anyone here but go ahead and research the crime stats for licensed concealed carry holders and you will find they are involved in very little crime. If you take it a step further you will also learn the average law abiding citizen is more likely to be shot mistakenly by the police than by a concealed carry license holder.

    It’s an emotional issue but the facts are the facts.

  19. Jolly Roger says:

    Czar Kashitch I, and his Rushpubliscum asshat Legislature, do not represent the majority of Ohioans.
    If you want to know how the majority of Ohioans feel, just look at how many signatures we got to repeal that noxious piece of shit SB5. And believe me, this is only the beginning. They are doing all this bullshit right now because they know they won’t be doing it in a couple more years. Let them; we’ll clean it up.
    In the meantime, stay the hell out of our bars. Like Tim said, guns and bars are a horrible combination.

  20. Jolly Roger says:

    This is not a personnel challenge to anyone here but go ahead and research the crime stats for licensed concealed carry holders and you will find they are involved in very little crime.

    Now here’s one for you. Go research how many bad guys get shot by people packing vs. how many family members or innocent bystanders get capped. And I’m not talking from emotion either. Just cold, hard fact.

  21. Not talking about people illegally carrying firearms Jolly Roger. I’m also not talking about the idiots who go out to buy a gun for protection and who never learn basic safety and handgun defensive use. Concealed carry license holders are safer for law abiding people to be around than police. If you have some factual evidence that I’m wrong I would be happy to receive it and post here that I was wrong. I make a point of never posting anything I believe to be false and publicly correcting myself when I post something I later learn to be false.

    U.S. history shows that irrational discrimination fades as more people learn the truth about the group being discriminated against. It is already happenIng with concealed carry; just look at how the laws are expanding our rights. Just about anyone willing to look say the facts with an open mind will come to understand there is no reason for a law abiding person to fear concealed carry.

  22. Matteo says:

    I saw this in the New York Times and wanted to share it with everyone.

    Jared Lee Loughner, the Tucson man who shot Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords and killed six people including a young girl came to mind. I suppose Mr. Loughner was afraid to leave his house unarmed too.

    Some With Histories of Mental Illness Petition to Get Their Gun Rights Back

    http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/03/us/03guns.html?_r=1&hp

    At least a few hundred people with histories of mental health issues already get their gun rights back each year. The number promises to grow, since most of the new state laws are just beginning to take effect. And in November, the Department of Veterans Affairs responded to the federal legislation by establishing a rights restoration process for more than 100,000 veterans who have lost their gun privileges after being designated mentally incompetent by the agency.

    Personally, I think Ohio Gov. Kasich is out of his mind. What was Ohio thinking electing him?

  23. Great comments everyone!

    Please keep them coming. I read everything and I appreciate your points of view.

  24. Tiny Dancer says:

    John Kasich is a dope.

    What the hell was he thinking signing this bill? Can’t wait for the first bar owner to get sued because someone was shot and killed in his establishment.

  25. fran says:

    Jared Lee Loughner, the Tucson man who shot Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords and killed six people including a young girl & Federal Judge– he lived in Arizona, which is an “open carry” gun state.
    There were general public citizens present @ the strip mall shopping center carrying guns at the time Loughner open fire on the crowd. One young man said he did not pull his gun & attempt to shoot Loughner because there was fast paced chaos going on, the shooter moving & firing rapidly & other people dashing & falling to dodge bullets.
    Just one example of how this theory plays out in a real life out of control gun situation.
    At some point someone physically knocked Loughner down & others kicked the gun away from his possession, is how the the shooting stopped.

    In another case, when 16 year old Oregon student Kip Kinkel opened fire in Thurston high school,
    it was another student familiar with guns who recognized the gun was out of ammo & the shooter was about to reload when he physically tackled the shooter to the ground & got the gun away from him.

    In another royal mess of “states rights”— look at the array of various gun laws in different states:

    Permissive Open Carry States which means the states have passed full preemption regarding all firearm laws. These states permit open carry to all law-abiding citizens without a criminal record without any special permit or firearms license. The open carry is legal for a citizen on foot or in a motor vehicle. The states that allow this are Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Arizona, New Mexico, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, Virginia, Alaska and Kentucky.

    Licensed Open Carry States allows open carry to all law-abiding citizens once they apply and are approved for a permit or firearms license. They can also carry on foot or in their motor vehicle. The states that require a permit or license for open carry are Utah, North Dakota, Minnesota, Iowa, Indiana, Tennessee, Georgia, Maryland, New Jersey, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Hawaii and Massachusetts.

    Anomalous Open Carry States open carry in these states are generally lawful, but the state itself may have other stiff restrictions to deter citizens from carry a firearm open. The laws in these states are very grey and could cause you a lot of problems if you go toting a gun around openly. The states that have a lot of grey area on open carry are Washington, Oregon, Nevada, California, Colorado, Missouri, Kansas, Louisiana , Mississippi, Alabama, North Carolina, Nebraska, Wisconsin, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Maine, Delaware and New Hampshire. You shouldn’t carry open firearms in these states just to avoid a charge of bringing terror to the people which only requires a citizen to see you carry open firearms and saying they are in fear. You will get charged.
    Non-Permissive Open Carry States which means these states don’t allow open carry of firearms or is only lawful under very limited situations such as hunting, traveling to and from a hunting site or in self defense. The laws are very grey in these states and you risk being arrested if you carry a firearm in the open. These states consist of Texas, Oklahoma, Washington D.C., Arkansas, Illinois, South Carolina, New York and Florida.

  26. Angela Smith says:

    My boyfriend owns a gun and when I’m with him I feel safe! I’m gald the Bill was signed. We should have the right to protect ourselves. There’s alot of crazy people out here.

  27. dlake says:

    i carry a gun and i have a ccw and i’am happyit pasted .it’s a lot of people that carry guns that don’t have ccw so what about that tell me people.you so called gun haters kill me the cops mite not be there so now what kill or be killed . i mite save your dame life don’t hate on my rights. crime will still be here when your dead and i’am here.

Leave a Reply

