Huffington Post’s New AOL Overlord is a Republican Donor

Tuesday, February 8, 2011


Arianna Huffington just can’t say no to wealthy Republicans. The Huffington Post’s new AOL overlord is a major Republican donor said to one “the most conservative people around.”

Huffington Post readers are already worried about the blog’s $315 million acquisition by AOL and this tidbit is sure to make the Huff Poles certain the deal spells trouble.

While the AOL CEO Tim Armstrong refers to himself as “a libertarian,” the fact is he’s said to be “one of the most conservative people around,” says a source close to him.

Armstrong gave $500 to Thomas Herrmann’s 2010 run for Congress and Armstrong’s wife is an even bigger Republican donor. She’s given thousands to Republican Rob Simmons’s campaigns for Congress.

It’s widely known that Huffington Post Queen Bee, Arianna Huffington, started her professional life as a rightwing Republican,and only jettisoned her conservative world views after learning her former husband, Michael Huffington of Texas, was gay.

As a venture capitalist with a boatload of money, Tim Armstrong’s acquisition frenzy may not stop Huffington Post. He’s also expressed an interest in buying Yahoo.

This entry was posted in Blogosphere, Braindead Media, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Huffington Post’s New AOL Overlord is a Republican Donor

  1. CritcalEyes... says:

    Another one bites the dust……………..

  2. Abbey Peripatetic says:

    MSNBC and now Huffington Post.

    Word is, Arianna Huffington pocketed $100 million in the deal. I don’t begrudge this savvy business decision on her part but it is still sad to see the winnowing of any left-leaning media outlets.

    I guess the blogs must carry on the cause.

  3. Scott Dancer says:

    I think Huffington is being extremely disingenuous when she says little will change on the blog now that conservative AOL owns it.

    As a businessman, I can tell you with certainty that everything will change at Huffington Post over the next three years. Expect more advertising and columnists with a left-leaning perspective to be seen more infrequently.

    In a year, I fully expect Huffington Post to adopt a pro-NRA posture.

  4. Estacada says:

    I’m not sure what any of this means for AOL.

    After reading this piece I checked the NYSE and AOL stock value appears to be in free fall. Dropping more than 3.11% in the first hour of trading. If I were an investor, I would avoid AOL stock like the plague.

  5. R.J. says:

    It looks like I’ll have to get my news elsewhere, which isn’t a bad thing. I won’t miss HuffPo and their sensationalist headlines on mundane stories. And AOL used over 1/3 of their cash on hand to make this acquisition. That stock will drop big time.

  6. Brigadoon says:

    I never trusted Arianna Huffington. I thought the reverence many on the left held her suggested the behavior of naive children. Many an argument ensued in social settings when I dared to question her motives and her politics. It seemed women in particular, saw her as a role model just as they see Sarah Palin and Hillary Clinton as role models.

  7. I have no use for Huffington Post.

    They’re heavily and ridiculously moderated posts are just stupid. As I said on another blog, I can understand moderating a thread about Arianna or a controversial topic of some sort but, they moderate “What is Your Favorite Day or the Week?”

    Who has time to bother with them? Not me.

  8. libhomo says:

    The Huffington Post already has gradually shifted to the right to cater to corporate advertisers. My other gripe is that they copy and paste the leads from other providers and link to them…without any original content.

  9. Jolly Roger says:

    Anyone who has ever trolled AOL News (and I used to, before I got banned) knows what this means.

    In the meantime, my postings will continue, as I now feel no reason to restrain my witty and on-target commentary.

  10. rockync says:

    A disturbing precedent – with enough money, you can buy up media/information sources and simply squeeze out the opposition until there is no voice at all…

  11. Pingback: Arianna Huffington hates Black women and loves D.L. Hughley | Commentary by Valentina

Leave a Reply

