CNN Continues to Hemorrhage Viewers

Thursday, December 23, 2010


USAToday has an interesting piece today about cable’s decline in viewership.

While much of the article centers around the cable entertainment channels, my eye was drawn to CNN and Fox News. CNN continues to hemorrhage viewers, down 34% for 2010. Even Fox News — the conservative news darling, saw 7% of its audience disappear.

Anderson Cooper was wise to ink a deal for a network daytime talkshow. His CNN show Anderson Cooper 360 is wrapping 2010 with its lowest ratings ever in primetime among adults 25-54. Overall, Anderson Cooper 360 is down 32% in total viewers.

Time Warner, CNN’s parent company, would be smart to pull the plug on its entire New York and Atlanta operations and replace it with the excellent CNN International.

This entry was posted in Cable News, CNN, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to CNN Continues to Hemorrhage Viewers

  1. lea-lea says:

    I’m not the least bit surprised to see this.

    Other than Larry King, who I enjoyed when he had guests on I like seeing, I never watch CNN nowadays. Now Larry King retired so there’s no reason to ever watch them.

    The daytime line up is unwatchable. Ali Belchi? Seriously, is he even human?

    The weekend crew is just awful. I was never a fan of Anderson Cooper because he refuses to come out. I don’t like phonies.

  2. Big Hank says:

    When CNN fired Aaron Brown I said enough is enough.

    CNN is now just an outlet for Time-Warner to sell commercials. The anchors cut off guests to get to commercial break in mid-thought. It became too aggravating for me so I haven’t watched them in at least two years.

  3. Mets Fan says:

    Have you tried to watch CNN’s Tony Harris? What a moron.

    He has absolutely no understanding of the stories he’s reporting on. The guy only comes alive when they allow him to cover an NFL story. A total goof.

  4. Eric Equality Kuntz says:

    My rant about CNN is Wolf “Leslie” Blitzer and when he goes to the panel of experts to discuss a topic or story.

    The screen either divides into 4 squares with 2 lefties and 2 righties to explain the issue or topic to us ignoramuses watching them. After all, the east coast media elites are so much smarter than the rest of us and the chattering classes have all attended Ivy League schools but oddly enough, what they offer isn’t analysis but opinion — just like what we do on the blogs or at work in the break room.

  5. Walk on Socks says:

    CNN is a mess. They can’t decide who or what they are.

    The decline started when they decided to be Baby FOX News. They fired the real journalists and hired people like Erick Erickson to rep the pajamas media crowd. When this became an epic failure, they went to an all-black format trying to compete with local Atlanta news. Now, this has failed so they proudly announced they’re coupling with the Tea Party to cover the next political debates.

    I think Christopher is correct. Fire the Atlanta and New York staff and just broadcast CNN International because trust me, the day Time Warner says they’re selling CNN, they will either be forced to change or go out of business.

  6. Conejo1982 says:

    Eric Equality Kuntz hit the nail on the head. Wolf Blitzer is unwatchable.

    The thing that annoyed me about him to the point that I had to stop all CNN viewing is the fact that Blitzer doesn’t listen. He speaks from a sheet of prepared notes and has no interest in what his guests have to say. He’s the most disengaged personality on cable. He’s worse than Sean Hannity and that’s pretty damned bad.

  7. R.J. says:

    I’m all in favor of CNN International. I wish they would show it where I live.

  8. Adirondacky says:

    CNN International is very good. Great global coverage which includes the EU, Africa, Asia and some South America. One of the anchors (Natalie someone or another) used to be on CNN and I assumed they fired her. The mess on regular CNN is just that — a mess. I can’t stand Wolf Blitzer, or Anderson Cooper, or Tony Harris. These guys are lightweights, and do nothing to distinguish the network.

  9. Mauigirl says:

    Would love to see more international coverage. Good suggestion for CNN to replace itself with its international cousin.

  10. feminazi says:

    I forget CNN International is there. I’m sure my cable provider carries it but like I’ve said so many times. When it comes to news, I watch local news and then the BBC on my local PBS channel. I have for years and years so maybe it’s just a matter of habit. I never watch Fox or CNN. Occasionally, if there is a big story, I turn it to MSNBC. But even this is rare. The problem I have with CNN is the amount of commercials. I swear, WWIII may break out and CNN will have commercials ahead of programming.

  11. theodoria j. landing says:

    I DID’NT KNOW YOU WERE HERE BUT I MUST SAY I FEEL BETTER NOW KNOWING THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO CANNOT STAND THE SOUND OR SIGHT OF WOLF BLITZER YOU FIRED MY CUBAN GUY AND NOW YOU NEED TO LOOK AT ALL OF THE NEGATIVE HORSE MANURE THAT COMES OUT OF WOLF BLITZER’S MOUTH FOR INSTANCE HE ASKED A REPUBLICAN TALKING HEAD LAST NIGHT DID HE THINK THE PRESIDENT WAS UP TO SPEAKING AT THE MEMORIAL SERVICE IN TUCSON WHO DOES HE THINK OUR PRESIDENT IS AN IDIOT OFF THE STREETS OF CHICAGO HE FORGETS HE IS NOT MORE INTELIGENT THEN THE PRESIDENT FIRE HIM GET SOMEONE WHO LISTENS AND RESPECTS OUR PRESIDENT.

  12. Dennis says:

    Cnn is a great news station specially if you consider the alternative.
    fox news. Cant stand right wing (ss) opinionated morons The channel that is for people who cannot think for them self.

  13. Sal-very didn’t end in the 1800’s it became all inclusive. If you make under $60k a year, like my 6 children, you are a slave to the rich. You are two or three paychecks away from living in your car. look how many are living with parents. The rich will buy up their homes, that they lost, and rent them back in a few years . . . more to the top, the top, the 90% is giving away everything to few!

Leave a Reply

