Gold’s Gym Owner One of Four Billionaires Funding Karl Rove’s Group

Sunday, October 24, 2010


If you’re a gym bunny who pumps iron at Gold’s Gym, here is some critically important information you need to know.

According to an investigative report by Salon, 97% of the $4.7 million raised by Karl Rove’s new antigay, conservative group called American Crossroads, is funded by just four men — billionaires all, including Dallas’ Robert Rowling who owns Gold’s Gym.

From Salon:

TRT Holdings, owned by Dallas’ Robert Rowling, gave American Crossroads $1 million. Rowling, whose firm owns Omni Hotels and Gold’s Gym, got started at his father’s successful company, Tana Oil & Gas. He’s worth $4.4 billion. In 2004 Rowling gave $1 million to Progress for America, an outside group backing President Bush’s reelection.

So just to recap. Gold’s Gym takes your membership money and hands it over to an antigay, conservative group started by “Bush’s brain,” Karl Rove. You may want to reconsider where your maintain your abs and biceps.

This entry was posted in Homophobes, LGBT, News, Politics, Radical Rightwingers, Republican Douchebags, Texas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Gold’s Gym Owner One of Four Billionaires Funding Karl Rove’s Group

  1. DMason says:

    This is fucking amazing. Rove is such a scumbag. I’m lucky because my condo building has a gym in it with Nautilus equipment. Plus, we have a pool. My monthly homeowners pays for this and I work out at home. I will pass this info on to friends who go to Gold’s.

  2. Rachel says:

    Go for a walk, jog, ride a bike. Keep these wingers out of your health regiment. Anytime a corporation gets involved, there’s a risk for this sort of thing to happen.

  3. R.J. says:

    I have my own weight set in a spare bedroom. Saves me money and I can use it whenever I want.

  4. Arizona Leatherneck says:

    Jesus Christ. This makes me furious.

    I used to work out at Gold’s in Phoenix. I feel like going over there and demanding a refund of my membership fees and if they jerk me around, I’ll kick some ass.

    I don’t work out there now and I haven’t for probably 5 years. I don’t have the time or interest now but this still pisses me off because I hate Karl Rove.

  5. Estacada says:

    $1,000,000 went to Bush’s 2004 campaign?

    This is more revolting to me than donations to Rove’s group because it means Robert Rowling had the dried blood of American soldiers who died needlessly in the stupid Iraq war. This guy is an asswipe.

  6. Big Hank says:

    The fact that Karl Rove is free to start a political action group is the real crime.

    Rove should be in prison, cleaning shitty toilets and getting gang raped by horse-hung Bubbas from the deep South. Gee, that was harsh, wasn’t it? Truth is sometimes a bitch. Like Karl Rove.

  7. joost says:

    What is it about the state of Texas? Instead of the USA spending billions on a fence on the Mexico border, I say lets build a fence surrounding Texas walling it off from the rest of the country. Keep those scoundrels in and away from the rest of us.

  8. Rem says:

    I had read that many Gold’s are locally owned through franchises and that many are very supportive of the Gay Community. I go to Gold’s Castro in SF, so I called to get some information. I got a very polite and informative response to my questions. I was assured that the family that owns gold’s in SF has been very supportive of the Gay Community. I was given an email address to make further inquiries.

    This is what I wrote:

    Dear Sir:

    Imagine my surprise when I read that Gold’s Gym has been contributing tons of money to anti-gay politicians. However, I read that many of the Gym’s are locally owned in franchises and that many contribute to the LBGT community.

    So, I called Gold’s today and spoke to XXXX, who was extremely polite and well informed. She assured me that your franchise is supportive of the gay community. She told me that your franchise has contributed to many gay causes. Understandably, she didn’t know about financial specifics.

    If you wouldn’t mind answering a few questions, it would help me make a decision as to if I am to continue in my membership.

    1. How much of my dues goes to Corporate.
    2. How much of my dues goes to your gay supportive charities.
    3. Does your franchise make political contributions. If so, to whom?

    Thank you for your time in this,

  9. Walk on Socks says:

    Typical corporation.

    On the one hand, they contribute to PACS and causes who want to hang gay Americans from a noose while contributing to gay organizations to cover their ass.

    I have never gone to a Gold’s Gym — ever. There are too many good, affordable, neighborhood places to workout who aren’t associated with Karl Rove.

  10. Jolly Roger says:

    I’ve worked for two Texas-based corporations, and I can attest to two things that are almost always the truth: the owners of Texas firms are detestable scum, and a Texas corporation will fuck you over if there is any way to do it.

    Gold’s owner wants to fuck all of us over, which is less than no surprise.

  11. Peace Nick says:

    Work out? What’s that?

    I hardly have the energy to go to work and do the job of three people (company lay-offs and employees aren’t replaced nowadays), so the concept of going to a gym just doesn’t resonate on my radar screen.

  12. Mets Fan says:

    Karl Rove is like a yeast infection that won’t go away.

    He should’ve been prosecuted for perjury and lying to the Congress but, our cowardly lawmakers trembled in terror before this rat-faced, ass-faced bastard.

    Ain’t America great? LMAO!

  13. Adirondacky says:

    I see Gold’s Gyms everywhere. I think we have 2 or 3 where I live and I see them in most new suburban street malls. I had no idea the owner is a nutcase and contributed to Karl Rove’s group. This is outrageous.

  14. Rinaldo says:

    I have no comment, because my major daily exercise is lifting my coffee cup and the last time I saw the inside of a gym was while watching reruns of seinfeld …

    My recliner is a La-Z-Boy … maybe I need to check into the political contributions by that company ?

  15. Laini says:

    Wow…I’ve been trying for months to get a refund from Gold’s Gym, and no luck. There seems to be a process in place, that’s a secret to me.
    I will never, ever, join a gym again. Buy a pair of good running shoes and off I go.
    Glad to hear the guy who created this place is a billionaire though…

Leave a Reply

