Hillary Clinton Releases Her Own “It Gets Better” Video

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton released her own heartfelt “It Gets Better” video aimed for gay teenagers bullied to the point they may be considering suicide. In the video, Hillary says, “It will get better for you.”

From President Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama? Crickets.

This entry was posted in Bullying, Hillary Clinton, LGBT, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Hillary Clinton Releases Her Own “It Gets Better” Video

  1. Chad Lebanon says:

    Good on Hillary Clinton!

    The more voices who participate in the campaign, the great chance of preventing these kids from killing themselves. The number of gay teenager suicides is now more than 20 this year alone.

    This is unacceptable and it must end.

  2. Pechanga says:

    A very important campaign. It’s so interesting to me how Hillary Clinton is becoming more relevant to our nation and on a variety of important social issues.

    Meanwhile, Mr. Obama is becoming very dated.

  3. DMason says:

    Well done, Hillary! Way to go!

  4. Seabec says:

    These PSA messages matter. Depressed and bullied teens need to know there is life after high school and there’s a world awaiting their unique talents and skills, where people don’t care if they’re gay or lesbian.

    I applaud Hillary Clinton participating in the “It Gets Better” campaign.

  5. Hillary Clinton is sounding more presidential each day.

    In this “It Gets Better” video, she speaks as though she has the Bully Pulpit — something President Obama allegedly has, yet, refuses to use, to reach at-risk gay teenagers.

    Hey Barry, America’s kids do listen, if you want to take the time to talk to them.

  6. Randy Arroyo says:

    Hopefully, Hillary’s video, along with many of the videos by rockers, rappers and actors, will make their way into school classrooms. These kids aren’t alone and it will get better.

  7. Adirondacky says:

    Hillary Clinton shows leadership on an issue that has become an national disgrace. Why have so many gay teens taken their own lives at a time in history when acceptance of gay people is on the rise? I think it’s directly tied to the government’s refusal to repeal DADT and DOMA. This sends a mixed message to America’s youth. Obama doesn’t have the cajones to show any leadership on gay issues. Even when if it centers teen suicide.

  8. Bel Ami says:

    Hillary is the best almost-president we’ve ever had.

  9. Tiny Dancer says:

    Hillary says, “Many people are standing with you and sending you their thoughts, their prayers, and their strength. Count me among them.”

    Nice. Classy and succinct. Hillary is the national leader we so desperately need now but don’t have.

  10. R.J. says:

    I never thought I’d say this but I want the former “Borg Queen” to run in ’12.

  11. feminazi says:

    The plague of gay, American kids committing suicide as a result of bullying is tragic and makes me angry. I don’t want to believe this is what we’re teaching our kids and hatred of gay people starts at home. Hillary Clinton’s message is great and I applaud her efforts!

  12. Jolly Roger says:

    I said during the 2008 campaign that there wasn’t spitting distance between Hill and Obama.

    On this issue, I clearly was mistaken.

  13. Marcus Ybanez says:

    I always said Hillary had more courage than Obama. I voted for her in the primary and I held my nose and cast my vote for Obama in the general election. In my heart, I had this nagging feeling Obama would be a failure and sadly, I was correct. I hope Hillary runs in 2012 or in 2016. I’m not convinced she will. I mean, who in their right mind wants to be forced to solve the numerous and intractable problems facing this nation?

  14. Peace Nick says:

    Thank you, Madam Secretary, for caring enough to send this message to our teens.

    And to the coward in the White House, enjoy it son, because you’ve got 24 months left and it’s back to Chicago.

  15. Woodcliffe says:

    A wonderful gesture on Secretary of State Hillary Clinton’s part to join an important movement to save America’s gay teenagers.

    I’m very proud of her.

  16. bradfrmphnx says:

    I can remember when not so long ago many here were calling people Hilbots for speaking up for Hillary. The anger directed towards Bill Clinton, whose only mistakes in office were DADT/DOMA, carried over to her.

    While we all want to see these policies eliminated. Jumping to whatever side seems to be doing the most supporting is dizzying. Hillary made Bill what he was and is, and she is remarkably quiet during Obama’s presidency, this video being one of the few exceptions.

    And now the tide of disgust and pent up emotions to right the wrong of so many years is being placed on Obmama. I might ask where is the disgust with all the leaders who said they were going to change things for the LGBT community? But then I don’t want to be labeled an Obamabot…

    …not that he is all that he said he would be. He certainly is not. But neither does he deserve all the gnashing of teeth being directed at him, when there is a lot more involved here than just him. He clearly lied when he said he was your fiercest ally. But he is the better of all the evils out there…unless Hillary runs. And for that you can call me a Hilbot.

  17. Greg Equality Lengkong says:

    You can call me an AnybodybutObamabot.

    In fact, I may have the t-shirt guys at the Mall make me a t-shirt with this on it.🙂

Leave a Reply

