Anne Rice Quits Christianity

Friday, July 30, 2010


Best selling American author Anne Rice, announced on her Facebook page that she has quit Christianity. Perhaps, this is the inevitable path for anyone who thinks and reasons?

Here’s the quote:

“For those who care, and I understand if you don’t: Today, I quit being a Christian. I’m out. In the name of Christ, I refuse to be anti-gay. I refuse to be anti-feminist. I refuse to be anti-artificial birth control. I refuse to be anti-Democrat. I refuse to be anti-secular humanism. I refuse to be anti-science. I refuse to be anti-life. In the name of Christ, I quit Christianity and being Christian.

Welcome to the light side, Anne! Reason and enlightenment is always preferable to superstition and mythology.

This entry was posted in Christianity, News, Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Anne Rice Quits Christianity

  1. Rachel says:

    Anne Rice’s son, author Christopher Rice, is gay. She may have grown sick and tired of how religion exploits gay people as the bogeymen and bogeywomen to foster a culture of hatred in order to maintain control over their flock. Especially, the Catholic church.

  2. Gleneagle says:

    I think you hit the nail on the head, Rachel. Anne Rice loves her son and as a parent, a mother, how many times can you see a group bash your only child and then be loyal to that group? I think as a nation, we are entering an era where organized religion matters less and less to most people. At least I hope this proves to be the case.

  3. Peace Nick says:

    Are you sure Christianity didn’t “quit” Anne Rice?

    If you are a thinking man or woman, educated and live in the 21st century, so much religious dogma seems to be rooted in a time when people prayed for a decent rain and a good harvest to feed their family.

  4. bradfrmphnx says:

    As the world learns more and more science, religions are being shown for what they truly are – as Christopher so appropriately put it…”superstition and mythology.” When I shed the weight of having to worship something I didn’t understand, whose worship always seemed to hurt others, I felt free, truly free for the first time. I don’t pass judgement on a pious individual who walks in Christ’s/Buddha’s/Mohammad’s/FlyingSpaghettiMonster’s footsteps…it’s the ones who shout from the bully pulpit, who are always trying to instill their brand of “morality” to the rest of us that I simply, and for the life of me, can not fucking stand.

  5. R.J. says:

    Good for her! I’ve always wondered how she could live with how they persecuted her son for being himself.

  6. Hendrik Moller says:

    It is also the Christian Church that led me away from Christ, I as ever a Sunday School Teacher once. They, the Christian Preachers (according to the Bible and other theological teaching and scriptures), tell me I am going to Hell when I die for all Eternity and being tortures forever for not following Christ. The KEY QUESTION of ALL is that God created ALL, KNOWS THE FUTURE and EVERY THING seen on unseen. So WHY did this creator of this ENTIRE UNIVERSE created Satan if He KNEW that Satan will rebel against him at some time in Heaven. So this SINGLE EVENT in Heaven (designed by God, because he created ALL that was, is and will still be) will be the cause of MOST souls dead, alive and still to be born to already be in Hell and will be in Hell one day for not following Christ, demographically speaking, that is. Most religions in this Earth are not Christian…so all to Hell??
    DOES THIS MAKE SENSE ***ALL*** the SUFFERING of all dead non-Christians, non-Christians alive and non-Christians still to be born for not following the man called Christ.. And they tell me be cause I have a free will to choose Heaven or Hell, which to me is an invalid reason for all the SUFFERING that is happening on this Earth and in Hell currently and all the suffering yet to come.

    Anne Rice congratulations for your courage!

  7. Estacada says:

    Christianity no longer even tries to mask their hate of everyone from gays to single mothers and liberals.

    It’s a sick bunch but no one can match the depravity of the pedophile-rich Roman Catholic church. This one takes the prize.

  8. bad tim says:

    this divisiveness is disgusting. rice should be ashamed of herself for portraying all christians so negatively. most christians are decent people who accept science and human rights whole-heartedly. most churches do great charity work; and the catholic church is far from the worst of the denominations. it’s only fundamentalist religion that’s the problem. as a pagan, i just can’t understand the severity of judgment on both sides of this christian vs atheist battle, and i’m saddened that supposedly enlightened atheists prove to be just as quick to draw conclusions.

  9. MandT says:

    The rice is always greener on the other side.

  10. good for ann – the politics of organized religion is precisely the reason the world will meet the rapture at some point.

    while tim is right in saying there are lots of good and decent religious people – there are very few (if any) good religious hierarchies and leaders. i have yet to see one that doesnt have as its basic premise – “my religion can beat your religion up.”

  11. Mike Tidmus says:

    She hasn’t actually quit Christianity in the enlightened sense of the word, she’s just given up on ‘organized religion.’ She’s into ‘disorganized religion’ now.

    It’s like giving up your mafia connection but still hitting a bank when the mood strikes.

    Her impetus going the ‘disorganized’ route was Barbara Bachmann’s favorite rock god, Bradlee Dean, the Axle Rose wanna-be who thought it was great that Islam executed gays.

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2010/jul/30/anne-rice-quits-being-christian

  12. js says:

    Wow, such hatred towards a religion that teaches love. As a follower of Christ, I’m saddened by our reputation of hate not love. Where did we go so wrong? Please forgive mine and my church’s trespasses.

  13. bradfrmphnx says:

    js…Like I said before, it isn’t the pious individual who wants to live and let live in the name of Christ that has people who believe in something other than Christianity, to be upset. I wonder at the quickness for others to label every non-Christian an atheist. I am a Deist. What upsets the hell out of my are when churches, which are not required to pay taxes, insert themselves into our politics and try to shove their own personal brand of morality down our throats. When I see the Pope tell the world that it is okay to be gay, when I see Christians say that marriage is for everyone gay or hetero, and not some kind of sanctimonious bull shit between a man and a woman, when I see some of these changes…well then I might not hold such a grudge.

  14. barryb64 says:

    I am juggling between this site and another blog site and am reading the same story on Anne Rice. Am I correct to think Anne has dumped the religion; however pursued a relationship with Christ?

    By this, I mean she’s trusting Jesus for salvation alone and seeks to know God better minus the traditions of the religious Christianity. If so, I’d give my congrats to the woman.

    Other than this, I’ve never read her books; as I am not a fan of horror novels.

  15. LM says:

    Good news.

Leave a Reply

