Lou Dobbs Says Adios to CNN

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

loudobbsmexican

Controversial cable personality, Lou Dobbs, surprised his CNN viewers tonight by announcing he is leaving the cable news channel effective immediately.

Sitting before an image of an American flag on his television, Dobbs said:

“Some leaders in media, politics and business have been urging me to go beyond the role here at CNN and to engage in constructive problem solving as well as to contribute positively to the great understanding of the issues of our day. I’m considering a number of options and directions.”

Many media watchers expect the Birther aficionado to sprint to FOX News, where he would find a welcoming and enthusiastic audience for his anti-immigration and xenophobic world view.

This entry was posted in Cable News, CNN, Lou Dobbs, Media, Media Whores, News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Lou Dobbs Says Adios to CNN

  1. Randy Arroyo says:

    I was headed to bed and sleep. I’m glad I decided to check in here first and read the good news! I detest Lou Dobbs and I have enjoyed the various pieces you have written about him the past two years. I feel very confident that Dobbs will arrive at FOX. After all, he met with Rupert Murdock in September and sailed on his yacht around Manhattan.

  2. Rock says:

    This makes this uppity beaner want to chug a forty of Dos Equis and celebrate.

  3. mbmdl says:

    Woo hoo! Splendid news! What a wonderful way to end the day! Adios Lou, don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way to FOX. :-)

  4. JollyRoger says:

    Pancho will be back in no time, perhaps right behind Beck.

    They’ll be a powerful team, the two of them.

  5. feminazi says:

    I’d read Hispanic groups were pressuring CNN to dump Dobbs. I suppose it was inevitable he would pack up and go. He belongs on FOX. Maybe in the slot ahead of O’Reilly? I remember Dobbs back in the glory days of CNN. He wasn’t a xenophobe then. His show was about business — not political at all. I think he saw where cable was headed and he changed.

  6. VicoDANIEL says:

    CNN is losing its audience each month. Their decline is stunning. I remember when CNN was the monster cable news destination, then everything changed.

    Their morning show is beat by FOX & Friends and Morning Joe. The Situation Room is beat by Judge Judy and Oprah. All of their evening programming is beat by FOCX and MSNBC.

    The reality is, CNN is not news. When you have Leslie covering a serious event and says something like, ‘I’ll throw it back to you, Barbara, what do you think of these developments?” it’s no longer news but opinion and Americans are too smart to be fooled.

    Who really thinks Leslie is a journalist? He’s a former AIPAC lobbyist. Or Anderson Cooper. He’s only qualified to judge dance at DWTS. Or the ancient Larry King. Retire already.

    Maybe Lou Dobbs leaving is the first signal that CNN is trying to clean up its act and become a news organization again? Time will tell.

    vicodaniel1987@yahoo.com

  7. libhomo says:

    I’m so happy about this. They have CNN on at the gym right in front of the mats where I do abs. I hated being a captive audience for that piece of walking garbage.

  8. coon hunter says:

    There are too many blacks on CNN. I swear, CNN has hired every black in Atlanta with a degree in broadcast journalism. If aliens from a distant planet landed on earth and switched on CNN, they would conclude that blacks are the majority and not 12% of the population. CNN needs to fix this too.

  9. Pechanga says:

    I don’t watch any of the 3 cable networks.

    Usually, I’m too busy and have better things to do with my free time. Occasionally, I watch our local news and sometimes, BBC America before I go to sleep.

  10. Rachel says:

    The sooner Dobbs is gone the quicker CNN can try to rebuild its brand as a serious news organization and not a news magazine network. Maybe Wolf Blitzer will leave next? How cool would that be?

  11. Harry says:

    Adiós, Lou. Usted me hace enfermo a mi estómago.

  12. Bill Hussein O'Reilly says:

    They say Lou is married to a Latina, therefore he can’t be a racist.

    Proof? Where is the proof? Anyone have her name?

  13. Estacada says:

    The ethnicity of Mrs. Dobbs is really irrelvalent to the discussion about Lou’s racism.

    When I heard, or actually, I read, that he blamed Mexican immigrants on an outbreak of Leprosy in the U.S., I knew he was infected with the same sort of crazy that infects Glenn Beck.

    Good riddance, and enjoy Fox News, Lou. You will fit in well with all the other loons and kooks who suckle at Rupert’s tit.

  14. HalfGay says:

    None of the news channels actually report the news … it really is sad. I have been going to Democracy Now for some news but it’s difficult to find; Matt Taibi has been doing some great reporting on Wall Street but after reading that for an hour you kinda wanna watch TMZ for 2 hours…. not sure which one is more depressing! At least with Lou Dobbs off of CNN I won’t have to scurry past the channel.

  15. He’s still not as entertaining as Beck. If he ends up at Fox, I can only hope he brings his own special brand of lunacy. No chalkboards though, that idea has been taken.

Leave a Reply

