The Iconic Ford Mustang Turns 45

Saturday, April 18, 2009

45-ford-mustang2

No other American car is more instantly recognizable than the Ford Mustang.

It all began in the mid-’60s when the biggest population bubble in history was coming of age in America. Baby boomers would dominate the era and they didn’t want cars that looked anything like their parents’ cars. In 1964, the Beatles appeared on The Ed Sullivan Show, Goldfinger was in the theaters, and the price of gas was 30 cents per gallon. The Mustang was shown to the public the first time in the Ford Pavilion at the New York World’s Fair on April 17, 1964. It went on sale at that same day at Ford dealerships across the country for the staggering price of $2,500, factory equipped.

This month, Ford Motor Company will commemorate the 45th anniversary of the iconic Ford Mustang with a four-day celebration in Birmingham, AL.

This entry was posted in Cars, News, Popular Culture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Iconic Ford Mustang Turns 45

  1. Woodcliffe says:

    I was 10 when the Mustang made its debut and I begged, pleaded and cajoled my father to buy one of these beautiful cars.

    I had to suffer the indignity of traveling with my family (my parents, me and my brother and sister) in this God-awful Chevy station wagon, in baby shit yellow and adorned with fake wood paneling on the sides. Cool? Hardly. Mustang? The epitome of all things cool

    I still wish I had a 64′ Mustang with that smooth 6 cylinder engine and the bucket seats.

  2. feminazi says:

    The Mustang is an American classic. Only a few cars can be called beautiful, in my opinion, but the Ford Mustang is one of them. Ford should reintroduce the 1964′ model. I bet it sell like crazy.

  3. R.J. says:

    My sister had a ’71 Mustang with a 451 Windsor engine under the hood. My best friend has a ’67 fastback. I’m looking to get one in a few years myself.

  4. Bah. American, shmamerican. Nothin’ like a Popemobile.

  5. Arizona Leatherneck says:

    Nuttin’ like a 64′ Stang with a 170cc under the hood.

    We made great cars then.

  6. bradfrmphnx says:

    One of the coolest cars ever made. Instantly recognizable!

  7. Adirondacky says:

    An amazing little car. I saw a fully restored Mustang in the paper for sale a few years ago, a 65′ I think it was and the owner was asking $18,000. It sold. They are highly coveted by car buffs. I would love to hang a Mustang.

  8. Ed Carroll says:

    1966 my uncle purchased a 1966 geen mustang 6cyl auto geen with black interior he let me take it for a drive .I 1973 a family friend sold me his 1966 convertable 6cyl 3speed sprint I bought the car $50 36 years later I still own her she now has 510000.5 miles

Leave a Reply

