Anne Hathaway to Obama: “Explain Rick Warren”

Thursday, January 8, 2009

Actress Anne Hathaway appeared at the Palm Springs International Film Festival and wasted no time weighing in on the Rick Warren controversy surrounding President-elect Barack Obama:

“I expect him to explain that choice of Rick Warren. I don’t get it. All my friends and I were trying to figure it out, but we just can’t. So I’d love that. But other than that, I expect nothing but the best.”

I don’t get it either, Anne. By any measurement, Obama screwed up bigtime on this.

This entry was posted in Barack Obama, Homophobes, LGBT, News, Politics, Rick Warren and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Anne Hathaway to Obama: “Explain Rick Warren”

  1. Estacada says:

    I think Obama “misunderestimated” the outcry from his dance with Rick Warren.

    Obama won the election. He’s grown accustomed to rank adoration and not being called to task.

    Warren was Obama’s wake-up call and I don’t expect he will screw up like this again. This is the beauty of having a president who is a quick learn.

  2. lea-lea says:

    I hope you’re right, Estacada.

    Rick Warren is an unneeded distraction and a slap in the face to Obama’s LGBT supporters, as well as pro-choice women. My opinion of Obama definitely took a hit after this.

  3. Brigadoon says:

    Few people in Hollywood have the guts to criticize Obama at this point. They’ve heady on the koolaid and as far as Obama is concerned, he can do no wrong. I see where a number of A-listers have forked over $50,000 to the election party. I guess when you’re so invested, you have to wear blinders.

  4. I definately agree with Estacada.

  5. Walk on Socks says:

    Did you guys see Max Blumenthal’s expose of Rick Warren and his homophobic pals in Uganda?

    Christopher, you really need to do a post about it.

    Email me if you want a link to the article. It’s a real eye opener about who the zealots really are and it isn’t a pretty picture.

    They’re dangerous.

  6. Fran says:

    I had hoped Obama would have uninvited Warren, but it looks like he will still do the invocation.

    The Shrub will be present, and Warren, they probably have to put up a special shoe shield, as both would be excellent targets.

  7. libhomo says:

    Obama has some issues involving heterosexism and sexism. Otherwise, such an invitation would be unthinkable.

  8. libhomo says:

    Walk on Socks: I will be blogging on the topic of Warren’s effort to promote the spread of HIV in Africa in the next couple of days. I encourage everyone who reads From the Left and who has a blog to do the same.

  9. Kelso's Nuts says:

    testing my word press commenting problem

  10. Kelso's Nuts says:

    I think that Libhomo is onto something. I have one friend who was on the Harvard Law Review when he was the editor and my friend described Obama as “having a frat boy’s mentality.” My parents and son were down in Panama visiting for the holidays and my mentioned the daughter of a friend of hers, who’s African-American, who told her mother that Obama favored the White Gentile Federalists over all everyone else because he didn’t want to seem “biased.”

    His history is littered with homophobic episodes like when he wouldn’t have his picture taken with Gavin Newsom and Newsom’s kids because Newsom had just signed the SF gay-marriage bill into law. He had that awful “cured” ex-gay homophobic gospel singer McClurkin with him throughout the campaign.

    His inner circle has no gay men or lesbians in it. This is rare now for Republicans let alone Democrats. Rick Santorum’s campaign manager was gay.

    Furthermore, the church that Obama got in trouble for going to was a Church Of Christ and Jeremiah Wright was not a homophobe at all. In fact, he had performed gay-marriages before. I believe most of the UCC churches will do it happily.

    But while Wright’s church was very contemporary, Obama didn’t care for the contemporary liturgy. Before dumping Wright, Obama was already talking about things like the Endtimes and having a personal relationship with our Lord And Savior Jesus Christ, which is way over the top for the UCC. I’m doing this from memory because I dated a Congregationalist woman in college and the way she explained it to me was that there would be a homily and bible reading and then a discussion section which involved a lot of community and political stuff and the focus of the religion is much like Catholicism in that it teaches Jesus not as a savior so much as the Prince Of Peace.

    Even before Wright became a problem for Obama he was saying shit like “Democrats need to start accepting Jesus as their personal savior.” A reporter asked if that included Jews and Obama looked at him like murder.

Leave a Reply

