Obama’s Pal, Rick Warren, Visited and Praised Syria

Friday, December 19, 2008

I am troubled by new revelations about President-elect Barack Obama’s pal, Pastor Rick Warren.

Obama, you will recall, pissed off the queer community by inviting the homophobic pastor Rick Warren to perform the inaugural invocation at the White House on January 20, 2009. Obama defended his decision on the grounds of “inclusiveness.” I understand now that throwing the LGBT community under the bus is acceptable to Mr. Obama but I wonder how can he knowingly associate with someone visited and praised the patron-saint of state sponsored terrorism, Syria?

It may come as a surprise to President-elect Obama to learn that Syria has worked in concert with Hezbollah and Iran, and provided shelter for every Islamic terrorist group imaginable, Nazi war criminal Alois Brunner, and Jamil Al-Gashey (the only surviving Munich terrorist.)

I realize the President-elect is still learning on the job but is this really the type of inclusiveness he meant when he defended his decision to include Rick Warren in the inaugural festivities? Perhaps, President-elect Obama was unaware that Rick Warren held Syria in such high esteem that he praised the Bashar Assads and even characterized the country as a “moderate nation.” On the other hand, maybe the fact that Syria is hell-bent on the destruction of Israel just doesn’t resonate for Mr. Obama?

Either way, it’s clear that our new President-elect has a lot to learn.

H/T Debbie Schlussel

This entry was posted in Barack Obama, Douchebags, Israel, LGBT, Religious Nutcases, Religious Right and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Obama’s Pal, Rick Warren, Visited and Praised Syria

  1. Mauigirl says:

    My take on this is that Obama makes it a policy to surround himself with people who have different ideas than his own. I doubt he feels the same about Syria as Warren does. I am mystified why he chose this execrable man to give the invocation but I am taking it with a grain of salt.

    My bigger question is why do we have a religious invocation before the inauguration in the first place? It would avoid all of these controversial issues if this position were eliminated entirely.

  2. TOM339 says:

    I won’t even ask how you unearthed this gem, Christopher but, it is extremely enlightening and puts the egg directly on Obama’s face.

    I really think Obama is a decent man. His intentions are good and he means it when he says he plans on being everyone’s president. However, I also think Obama is naive and he’s going to make a fool of himself a few times.

    As in extending an invitation to Rick Warren. This fracas will haunt him for the next 6 months.

  3. Rachel says:

    Obama’s been in politics 20+ years. He knows you are judged by the company you keep. Would he reach out to and invite a rapist to his inaugural? I think not but, in our culture it’s acceptable to reach out to a religious homophobe with ties to Syria all in the name of inclusiveness. Obama will extract a big price for this and it will come from not only the gay community but from the Netroots too.

  4. Idaho Librul says:

    This entire fracas shot an arrow in the idealism I let myself feel when Obama won the primary and then went on to defeat McCain.

    I hoodwinked myself into thinking maybe this time things might be different: Obama would be a new and different type of president but it looks like we’re dealing with just another career politician.

    No wonder Americans hate politicians.

  5. libhomo says:

    People at the inauguration should boo Warren the entire time he speaks.

  6. R.J. says:

    I hope people throw shoes at Obama’s motorcade on Inauguration Day. He deserves it.

  7. I suppose my previous comments need to be revised.

    The only problem I had with some peoples’ comments are that they are equating Obama to Bush. This, to me, is absolutely unacceptable. We have done all of this work to get the man who I still believe will be a changing force in American politics. Saying that you wish you voted for McCain shows how petty you are.

    That being said, I agree, Obama should not choose Rick Warren for the invocation. In fact, why not get rid of the invocation completely, separation of church and state, right?

    However, if you look at it from one final perspective, not mine however, this is very hypocrytical. Why involve his church ties in all of this? I mean, isn’t it his choice? Does it really reflect his political judgement? And if you make a big deal out of this, then why shouldn’t we have made a big deal out of Rev. Wright’s sermons.

    So there. I did not mean to offend anyone, least of all anyone in the homosexual community.

  8. Another good thing Obama did,

    Posted on December 19, 2008 by QuakerDave
    FINALLY!

    Good grief. It’s about time. I was really starting to get in a serious funk about this stuff.

    President-elect Obama has selected California Representative Hilda Solis to be Secretary of Labor.

    Rep. Solis is a great pick for this job. Besides being a very good Congressperson, she’s been very deeply involved in labor issues and is a strong advocate for working people. She’s also very strong on environmental concerns.

    Unlike what we’ve had for the last eight years.

    Lots more on Ms. Solis here.

  9. Maithri says:

    Obama made a mistake. A big one.

    I intuitively feel though, that Obama is a decent man who believes in civil rights for all people.

    I only hope that during his presidency he will work to make amends to all those who have been hurt by this decision.

    There are things he can do during his presidential term which will make a much louder statement to the world about the rights which belong to ALL of us… than anything Rick warren can say in a 2 minute prayer.

    Ill just change the channel during that part….

    Peace my brother,

    M

    PS I wanted to wish you and yours a fantastic and happy christmas season…. thanks for all you do to champion universal human rights… your work doesnt go unnoticed.

  10. this warren thing is bad, very bad. obama made a huge mistake – on many levels. but what is more important is how he governs after the 20th — how he fights for GLBT rights, gets us out of Iraq, reverses the horrible policies of bush etc.

    he doesnt get a pass on this — this truly is a big mistake. but what it does it make me look more closely at how he keeps his word as the president

  11. feminazi says:

    Christopher – As a woman and a Jew, I am growing more and more unsettled with these revelations about Obama’s hand-selected choice to perform his invocation. I’m deeply distrustful of religious folks who say things like, “love the sinner, hate the sin.” I am also keenly aware of the parallels between the civil rights movement and the fight for LGBT equality. Obama, as an African American man, should be ashamed of himself for extending this invitation to Rick Warren. The fact is, the person who performs the invocation often goes on to become the president’s spiritual adviser. If Rick Warren gets an office in Obama’s White House, I will work diligently to vote Obama out of office after one term.

  12. Estacada says:

    I’ve lost a lot of respect for Obama.

    I thought I knew him but it turns out he’s just another politician.

    Fuck him.

  13. Real mature. “Fuck him.” I am glad we can discuss things in an “adult” manner.

  14. “I intuitively feel though, that Obama is a decent man who believes in civil rights for all people.

    I only hope that during his presidency he will work to make amends to all those who have been hurt by this decision.

    There are things he can do during his presidential term which will make a much louder statement to the world about the rights which belong to ALL of us… than anything Rick warren can say in a 2 minute prayer.

    Ill just change the channel during that part….”

    I could not say it better myself.

  15. Peace Nick says:

    Barack Obama personally invited Rick Warren to perform the inaugural invocation.

    Warren is, anti-gay, anti-choice, pro-assassination.

    Why is reaching Barack Obama elevating this man to such visibility?

    It’s wrong. Obama’s wrong. Uninvite him before it’s too late.

Leave a Reply

