Telecoms Bought Democratic House Support

Wednesday, June 25, 2008

House Democrats who flipped their votes to support retroactive immunity for telecom companies in last week’s FISA bill took thousands of dollars more from phone companies than Democrats who consistently voted against legislation with an immunity provision.

According to an analysis by MAPLight.org, 94 Democrats who changed their positions received on average $8,359 in contributions from Verizon, AT&T and Sprint from January, 2005, to March, 2008.

Retroactive immunity could squash about 40 lawsuits pending against telecommunication companies that helped the government monitor the telecommunications traffic of Americans without warrants.

The top ten U.S. House recipients of telecom contributions include:

1.  Rep. James Clyburn, $29,500
2.  Rep. Steny Hoyer, $29,000
3.  Rep. Rahm Emanuel, $28,000
4.  Rep. Frederick Boucher, $27,500
5.  Rep. Gregory Meeks, $26,000
6.  Rep. Joseph Crowley, $24,500
7.  Speaker Nancy Pelosi, $24,500
8.  Rep. Melissa Bean, $24,000
9.  Rep. Thomas Edwards, $22,500
10. Rep. Joe Baca, $22,100

The money provides special interests with a bigger megaphone.

This entry was posted in Democrats, Nancy Pelosi, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Telecoms Bought Democratic House Support

  1. Aunt Peg says:

    I wondered why Nancy Pelosi voted “YEA.” Now I know.

    She’s just a whore in an election year. I suppose if someone offered her enough coin, she would flash her tits to an audience of half-dead Republican plumbers holding their convention in San Francisco.

  2. DMason says:

    Excellent and informative post, Christopher! I hadn’t seen this list anywhere else. Thank you for putting it up so that there can be no doubt who the real enemies are of the Constitution and the rule of law. I’m just surprised Pelosi’s name isn’t on top.

  3. Scott Dancer says:

    So all it takes to buy Nancy Pelosi is $24,500?

    I’m sure I could get a collection plate passed around at work from people who despise her enough to kick in $1,000 and then we could send it to her with the proviso that she not run for reelection and retire from the U.S. House of Representatives.

    Really, I’m not joking.

  4. Joe in Colorado says:

    The price to buy a Congressman keeps dropping. I suppose it has to do with inflation and the falling value of the dollar. Thank goodness the purchase of a Congressman doesn’t require payment in euros.

  5. Rachel says:

    Absolutely appalling! Pelosi, Hoyer and Emanuel looked the other way while the Constitution was eviscerated and all it took was a check of less than $30,000. These House members are un-American and not fit to serve in the Congress. I detest them and all they stand for.

  6. Harry says:

    Special interests is just a Capitol Hill way saying bribery.

  7. RainBro says:

    Thanks Chris. David Crosby would be happy.

    Peace,
    =RD=

  8. Ypsilanti says:

    OK, I know the drill by now and so do my so-called representatives in Washington.

    I become engaged about an issue or issues and I call their Washington office to weigh in and call on them to vote one way or the other. They take my name and record my position and thank me for my involvement.

    And so it goes.

    Telcom amnesty weighs heavily for me and I expect my elected representatives to protect the rule of law and the Constitution. This is what matters because without an intact governing document to protect every American, our way of life becomes threatened.

    But I am rapidly realizing that my phone calls don’t compete with multi-nation, corporate donations to the tune of $30,000 to buy favors. Mine is but a lone voice in the wind and at the end of the day, meaningless. These Congressional louts are up for reelection this November and they need money — lots of money to run for office.

    So I call and I call. In fact, I call my district representatives so often that I’m on a first name basis with the people who answer the phones. I guess this makes me rather pathetic but I care about this country and I try to stay involved.

    I don’t think we’re going to win on this one. The players in Congress have been sold to the highest bidder and it is an election year.

  9. taco says:

    Special interests is just a Capitol Hill way saying bribery.

    Ka-Ching!

    I think we have a winner.

  10. Peace Nick says:

    No wonder the Congress enjoys a 12% approval number.

    Contrary to what many members of the Executive and Legislative branches of government think, the American people aren’t stupid.

    The American people are informed and engaged and we know when we’ve been sold out by the likes of Nancy Pelosi and Steny Hoyer.

    I am disappointed to see Rep. James Clyburn’d name at the top of the list. Fuck him, too.

  11. Brigadoon says:

    Whores and turncoats. I hate them all.

  12. Larry says:

    Harry Reid is actually voting against this mess. Too bad those traitors of the Pelosi ilk ponder pecos over people.

  13. Joe in Colorado says:

    Harry Reid is voting “NO”? Really? Well, I have to say I’m surprised he would reach down and find the balls to oppose the Great Boosh and his Satan caretaker Cheney. Any word on Feingold, Obama, Biden and Dodd?

  14. Matteo says:

    Congresswoman Barbara Lee (D-CA) can’t be bought. Here is the four points she made on the floor opposing FISA. Too bad the whore Pelosi wasn’t listening.

    http://www.ibabuzz.com/politics/2008/06/20/bay-area-house-members-split-on-fisa-vote/

    “Madam Speaker, here are four reasons to oppose this bill. First, the legislation undermines the ability of federal courts to review the legality of domestic surveillance programs. It limits the subjects which may be reviewed and lowers the standard the Government must meet to pass legal muster.

    “Second, the House bill provides de facto retroactive immunity to telecommunication companies that participated in illegal spying by this Administration.

    “Third, the legislation does not sunset until December 31, 2012. Given the breadth and scope of authority this bill gives the President, 4 years is too long to wait before Congress has the chance to review, modify, or terminate the program.

    “Fourth, the bill contains insufficient protections against the practice of “reverse targeting,” the practice whereby the government targets foreigners overseas without a warrant while its actual purpose is to collect information on persons in the United States.

  15. Adirondacky says:

    These top ten House members are now the priority to defeat and send packing. They are shameful and do not represent what is best about public service in America. I am sending this article and list to MoveOn for them to see. My guess is, MoveOn is already on it, as well they should be.

  16. stradella says:

    Barack Obama said last February he would support a filibuster if it resulted in the defeat this bill.

    He’s a constitutional lawyer and the leader of the Democratic party. Brother Barack, don’t let this sistah down. Don’t let the country down.

    If you recall, the Borg Queen supports this bill like a true, card carrying DINO. Its one of thousands of reasons why I have no use for her.

    Obama holds my support in his hands.

  17. Conejo1982 says:

    DINO Dianne Feinstein just said she’s voting to support without qualifications. She’s turned out to be the most loyal Bushite in the kosher wing of the DLC.

  18. Estacada says:

    Vote.
    Them.
    Out.
    Of.
    Office.

    Enough is enough.

  19. joost says:

    Christopher –

    This is important information.

    Thanks for posting it. My worst opinion of the Dumbos in the Congress have been confirmed.

    They need to be voted out of office, ASAP.

  20. Brigadoon says:

    I hate them all.

  21. Jim says:

    So much for ethics. These Dems would sell their souls…oh wait, they have!

  22. fran says:

    Nancy is looking as bad as she legislates.

  23. libhomo says:

    This is an excellent reason for people to support Cindy Sheehan.

    The list also is a good start for a primary challenge list in 2010.

Leave a Reply

