Heinz Connects Big with It’s Gay Market

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

Heinz is set to challenge some viewer expectations with a light-hearted TV campaign that features two men sharing a kiss.

The TV commercial, which promotes a new range of dressing called Heinz Deli Mayo, breaks tonight and will be supported by a press campaign.

Heinz’ new ad opens with a family on a normal morning routine with a young boy and girl getting ready for school and their father preparing for the office. The young boy and girl go to the kitchen to get their sandwiches, which are being prepared by a man with a New York accent dressed in a deli servers outfit who they refer to as “mum”.

When their father goes to get his sandwich he says to mum in the kitchen “See you tonight love”.

However, mum barks back “Hey, ain’t you forgetting something?”, at which point the two men share a kiss. “Mum” then sends the father off with the words: “Love you. Straight home from work, sweet cheeks.”

This entry was posted in Gay and Lesbian, Human Rights, Media Sources and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Heinz Connects Big with It’s Gay Market

  1. feminazi says:

    What a sensational ad! I wonder if Theresa Heinz-Kerry was the driving force behind this? She’s very pro-gay and extremely outspoken. I salute both Theresa Heinz-Kerry and Heinz for having the courage to run this ad.

  2. Kellybelle says:

    The Brits are with it. They have gay marriage cards. When we try that management shuts us down. Cute ad.

  3. woyoyo says:

    Have you guys ever watched the Graham Norton show on BBC America Saturday nights?

    Graham Norton is an out gay man, and a very funny comic. His show features guests — many Americans, and of course, Brits. They all sit around and laugh and tell stories and they do skits. They curse and use the word “shit” and “dick” and “fuck” and they’re allowed to drink wine on TV.

    I guess my point is, compared to the baby Americans, the British seem like grown ups by comparison.

  4. dirti boi says:

    Love.
    The.
    Ad.

    And now I plan to purchase some Heinz products to show my support.

  5. Joe in Colorado says:

    This straight but not narrow reader says, Props to Heinz. It took bollocks on their part to be so bold. A truly wonderful and clever ad. When will it show in the USA?

  6. Rachel says:

    Adorable! I love this ad! Well done, Heinz!

  7. oh wow! where is this airing?? I almost wish I had a TV (and that I ate mayo) so that I can watch it and show my support…

    i’m really impressed with Heinz right now…

  8. Jenna Bush Stole My ID says:

    Heinz will never, ever, show this ad in the USA.

    Americans are God-fearing, Bible thumping, gay bashing assholes and the corporate concerns the ad will cause consumers to not buy their ketchup and mayonnaise is far too great.

    I may be totally wrong but this is my take on this most excellent ad.

  9. Robert Rouse says:

    What a great commercial! I hope it causes all kinds of trouble. Why? because we need to keep this dialogue going until it’s second nature.

  10. Harry says:

    It’s got Theresa Heinz-Kerry’s footprint all over it. I always liked her and couldn’t stand her husband,

  11. Aunt Peg says:

    I love this ad.

    I also think Jenna Bush Stole My ID is correct. The U.S. is just too damned up tight. The Judeo-Christian thangy is like a noose around the body politic of this nation.

  12. Ingrid says:

    When

  13. Ingrid says:

    oops, sorry, fumblefingers..
    WHEN I still lived in Canada, (ottawa), I would go to the Bytown theater every year when they would show that annual commercial/ad awards from all over the world.. whenever you ‘would’ see a daring, funny American commercial, rest assured, it never saw the light of day on tv here..the Brits (and the Dutch, ehem) have a very sarcastic, similar AND daring humour..things (AND words like someone mentioned with Graham Norton) would just be shown, never you mind if the kids might still be up.. I forgot what the ad fest was called but by the time you’d be done laughing, you’d already missed two or three commercials.. hilarious..
    good for Heinz.. maybe they can only show this in San Fran but anywhere else? Holy cow..

    Ingrid

  14. Ingrid says:

    ah.. just found this Berlitz commercial to make my point, I hope I can put it in here otherwise.. I’ll put it on my blog

    tsk tsk..those Dutch people..
    Ingrid

  15. Ingrid says:

    ok..don’t know if it took hold (since it’s waiting in moderation..) so I’ll post it on my blog..
    Christopher.. from me.. to you ..(now follow me..)
    Ingrid

  16. Paul says:

    Brilliant!

    Kudos to Heinz for this one!
    It’s just sad that we wont see this in America.

  17. Christopher says:

    Hi Ingrid,

    Comments go straight away to my blog unless there’s a link, then they are held for moderation.

    It’s kinda’ annoying but it cuts down on Spam.

    Sorry for any inconvenience.

  18. tasithoughts says:

    Bring the ad on! It is about time we challenge America. Sure there will be controversy. “Sweet Cheeks” deserves its time in the on the air!

  19. Ingrid says:

    no worries Christopher, that’s totally logical. Since I’ve become ‘sensitized’, whenever I’ve been back in NL and I watch tv and HEAR how people speak (even in Dutch shows just swearing easily in English) I think, oh my god..is that necessary?? Imagine that Dutch commercial on tv here but then reversed?? insane! [g]
    Ingrid

  20. .
    Great ad. I think it will appeal to the average catsup-eater. This is the year of “get used to it,” so, they will.

    Meanwhile, Hunts & Del Monte will be playing catch-up.
    .

  21. Ingrid says:

    Christopher, so much for progressiveness in ‘Europe’..ok ok.. we’re only talking England..
    don’t know if you saw this but unfortunately, the ad got pulled;
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2008/jun/24/asa.advertising

    as the french say, c’est domage..
    Ingrid

Leave a Reply

