President Obama Makes History, Comes Out in Support of Same-Sex Marriage

Wednesday, May 9, 2012


Photo Courtesy of My Friend and Fellow Blogger, BosGuy

President Barack Obama made history today by announcing he supports same-sex marriage.

In an interview with ABC News’ Robin Roberts, President Obama articulated his “evolution” on the issue of marriage equality citing conversations with his own staff members, openly gay and lesbian service members, as well as conversations with his wife, Michelle, and daughters.

President Obama said:

“I have to tell you that over the course of several years as I have talked to friends and family and neighbors when I think about members of my own staff who are in incredibly committed monogamous relationships, same-sex relationships, who are raising kids together, when I think about those soldiers or airmen or marines or sailors who are out there fighting on my behalf and yet feel constrained, even now that Don’t Ask Don’t Tell is gone, because they are not able to commit themselves in a marriage, at a certain point I’ve just concluded that for me personally it is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think same sex couples should be able to get married.”

Showing stunning courage and decisive leadership, Mr. Obama said his wife, First Lady Michelle Obama also supports same-sex marriage:

“This is something that, you know, we’ve talked about over the years and she, you know, she feels the same way, she feels the same way that I do. And that is in the end, the values that I care most deeply about and she cares most deeply about is how we treat other people and, you know, I, you know, we are both practicing Christians and obviously this position may be considered to put us at odds with the views of others but, you know, when we think about our faith, the thing at root that we think about is, not only Christ sacrificing himself on our behalf, but it’s also the Golden Rule, you know, treat others the way you would want to be treated. And I think that’s what we try to impart to our kids and that’s what motivates me as president and I figure the most consistent I can be in being true to those precepts, the better I’ll be as a as a dad and a husband and hopefully the better I’ll be as president.”

Today’s historic announcement completes a turnabout for President Obama, who opposed same-sex marriage throughout his career in national politics. In 2010, Mr. Obama told ABC’s Jake Tapper his feelings about marriage equality were “constantly evolving. I struggle with this.”

President Obama now joins the pantheon of great, American civil rights presidents, including Abraham Lincoln, Harry Truman, John F. Kennedy, and Lyndon Johnson.

This entry was posted in International News, LGBT Rights, Marriage Equality, News, Politics, President Barack Obama and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to President Obama Makes History, Comes Out in Support of Same-Sex Marriage

  1. DMason says:

    I’m truly shocked. I did not think President Obama had the cajones to make this announcement. I can now enthusiastically cast my vote for the president in November.

  2. Rachel says:

    Like David said, I’m in shock. ^5^ to President Obama!

  3. The Real Adam says:

    President Obama is the first, sitting U.S. president to come out in favor of gay marriage.

    He not only made history but, he is leading the country into the 21st century and tipped his hand to young Americans — both gay and straight alike that he is on their side. Mr. Obama is their president and is the de facto leader of the civil rights movement.

  4. PUMA Lisa 1972 says:

    Equality comes in like a lamb.

  5. Randy Arroyo says:

    I was at work and buried up to my balls all day. I had no idea President Obama had come out in favor of marriage. This is incredibly risky on a political level yet so important as an issue of basic equality. I have no idea how this will play out come November but I will be sending to his campaign money and casting my ballot for Obama/Biden. I am very proud of my president.

  6. Estacada says:

    Historic indeed. President Obama threw caution to the wind and did what was just and moral.

    Thanks, Mr. Obama. You’ve restored my faith in you and in the Democratic party. Now, lets pitch in and help get the president reelected and DOMA repealed.

  7. Walk on Socks says:

    Obama: “It is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think same-sex couples should be able to get married.”

    And Maggie Gallagher is now on suicide watch! :-)

  8. Adirondacky says:

    Well done, President Obama!

  9. Garrett M. Ockun says:

    I just donated $100 to Obama 2012.

  10. All Walks Of Life says:

    Dear Mr President, I personally; Thank You with tears in my eyes, thinking; finally someone of your great leadership… confirming equality, love, and family between 2 people is the most important in life! :)

  11. Fran says:

    I don’t know…. the timing is awfully close to the pre election build up. Call me a skeptic, but Obama also supported shutting down Gitmo, ending the Iraq war ASAP, and ending tax cuts for the rich. Effing politicians will say anything to get elected.
    It’s good he could bring himself to say he supports same sex marriage publicly, but that does not translate to Federally recognized, nationwide enforcement/recognition, legally binding marriages.

    Notice Mitt Romney was all over this like a fly on S##t.
    Imagine the Mormon Bishop who comes from a personal family line of polygamists, will now claim the high moral ground of the sanctity of hetero marriage.

    US elections are carnival freak shows!

    http://www.post-gazette.com/stories/opinion/perspectives/the-next-presidents-roots-in-polygamy-romney-and-obama-both-have-rather-exotic-family-histories-632550/

  12. feminazi says:

    I am over the moon with President Obama’s announcement. In my hear of hearts, I thought he would come forward and make this announcement after the November election but, to do it 6 months earlier is bold and as others have said, politically risky. That said, as if we didn’t know already, the choice for our next president is now perfectly clear.

  13. Scott Dancer says:

    What Feminazi said. President Obama must be reelected in November. Consider:

    President Obama, supported the repeal of DADT, supports the repeal of DOMA, backs Sen. Dianne Feinstein’s DOMA repeal bill, backed Federal hate crimes law, back ENDA, and has hired more openly gay and lesbian cabinet members than any president in history.

    Mitt Romney said at a campaign event in Colorado that he does not support marriage rights, and does not even support civil unions, has called for a Constitutional amendment to ban same-sex marriage, and doesn’t support ENDA.

    If President Obama isn’t reelected in November, I fear the gay rights movement will be set back at least 100 years. I have donated $250 to Mr. Obama’s reelection campaign.

  14. There is speculation as to what made President Obama endorse marriage equality yesterday. Some say the timing is a result of Vice President Biden’s pro-marriage remarks on Sunday. Others say the president intended to endorse marriage at the Democratic National Convention in August.

    At the end of the day, does it really matter? For those of us skeptical of Mr. Obama’s assertion that he is “our fiercest advocate,” any doubts are gone. This president — more than any president in U.S. history, stands with the LGBT community.

    If you don’t agree, there’s a viciously homophobic Mormon on the GOP ticket you can vote for.

  15. Joe in Colorado says:

    What Christopher said. I don’t care how Obama got there, he’s there now.

  16. barclayprincejohnson says:

    The President refers to himself and the First Lady as “practicing Christians”. He refers to Christ’s sacrifice, and the “Golden Rule”. Did he forget about Jesus Christ’s definition of marriage? What he should have said is not that his position is at odd with others, but that it is at odds with his purported faith. Evangelical Christian Blacks will leave (have left) him. He has, unfortunately, become the best friend the Right could have. It is almost certain that Governor Romney will let the President

  17. barclayprincejohnson says:

    The President refers to himself and the First Lady as “practicing Christians”. He refers to Christ’s sacrifice, and the “Golden Rule”. Did he forget about Jesus Christ’s definition of marriage? What he should have said is not that his position is at odd with others, but that it is at odds with his purported faith. Evangelical Christian Blacks will leave (have left) him. He has, unfortunately, become the best friend the Right could have. It is almost certain that Governor Romney will let the President shadow box on this issue while he seeks to press the issues that unite us instead of this which divides us.

Leave a Reply

