President Obama: Out of Touch with America

Friday, October 15, 2010


President Obama is woefully out of touch with the country who elected him.

According to a new New York Times/CBS News poll, President Obama’s obsession with the war in Afghanistan is his alone and not shared by the vast majority of the American people.

Mr. Obama has escalated our troop presence there to nearly 100,000, and more than 1,300 American service members have died in the conflict. The U.S., despite being $13 trillion dollars in debt, has spent over $300 billion on the war in Afghanistan so far.

Yet polling suggests Afghanistan barely registers voters’ radars as the 2010 midterm elections approaches. In the New York Times/CBS News poll, a whopping 60 percent of Americans said jobs and the economy were the most important problems facing the country. A mere 3 percent mentioned Afghanistan.

U.S. unemployment, as of October 1st, 2010, remains unchanged at 9.6 percent.

This entry was posted in Afghanistan, News, Politics, President Barack Obama, U.S. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to President Obama: Out of Touch with America

  1. Rem says:

    President Douche-bag, no doubt, wants that three trillion worth of minerals for donors to his campaign.

  2. Brigadoon says:

    You know as well as me why Barry escalated US troop levels in Afghanistan, don’t you? Every indicator suggests Barry intends to invade Pakistan in the spring of 2011. Even Rachel Maddow said, if the US invades Pakistan, she plans to travel to Washington and chain herself to the fence surrounding the White House. Barry is a war president. Just like Bush I and Bush II. We were duped, and our energies need to look ahead to 2012 and a finding a viable candidate to replace him with.

  3. Rachel says:

    Brig – I think you and I must be related because I have come to the same conclusion that the only justification for keeping 100,000 in Afghanistan is to further the expansion of the American empire in the region. But, like Gore Vidal observed, this will result in the end of the American empire. Economics will strangle us and force this nation to begin a new direction.

  4. Aunt Peg says:

    I’m sorry to harp but as a retired American who lives mostly on Social Security, I feel abandoned by this president.

    All of my bills go up, up, up, and my Social Security benefits are frozen. But we can spend $300 billion on the Afghanistan war and reconstruction? No, Obama won’t be receiving my vote in 2012, if I’m still here.

  5. Mets Fan says:

    Obama’s economic team is a disaster.

    When I heard he was bringing Timothy Geithner to the party I couldn’t believe it. Geithner is part of the reason Wall Street tanked and led to the $900 billion dollar TARP bailout.

    These folks are clueless about fixing unemployment.

  6. R.J. says:

    I’m voting him out in ’12 as long as I find a candidate that promises to pull our troops out of Afghanistan. Oh wait. We heard that promise in ’08…

  7. lea-lea says:

    Hi Aunt Peg! Long time, no post? Glad you’re here!

    I feel your pain sweetie. I posted here about how difficult it is for my grandmother and how my brother, my father and I, help her each month with her bills. People like you are part of the America this president has forgotten. It’s criminal.

  8. Scott Dancer says:

    High unemployment means a shrinking middle class, less money flowing into the US Treasury, and more debt in the form of borrowing.

    This is a recipe for disaster and I believe, threatens the very foundation this nation is built on.

    But hey, what do I know? I’m a real estate broker and not a politician. Mr. Obama has made his bed and now he gets to lay in it. Good luck.

  9. Jolly Roger says:

    I don’t think he’ll be able to invade Pakistan. 5 times the population of either Iraq or Afghanistan, with the rough terrain of Afghanistan. Short of nukes, we simply don’t have the resources to invade a major province of Pakistan, let alone the whole country.

  10. Matteo says:

    Did you guys see this?

    Obama’s DoJ declined to appeal this ruling but, Obama’s DoJ applied for “emergency relief” in the DADT ruling.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/10/14/AR2010101407137.html

    I think we’ve got ourselves an old time Bible thumper in the White House. Not cool. We need to fix this in 2012.

  11. Chad Lebanon says:

    Matteo,

    I heard about it on NPR this afternoon.

    Really makes you wonder if the charges that Obama and his kissing-cousin relationships with Rick Warren and Rev. Wright are spot-on?

    Oh well, Obama’s turning out to be like Bush II and Clinton. All too happy to kick “teh gays” under the bus for political gain.

  12. Arizona Leatherneck says:

    Just 3 percent of the American people mentioned Afghanistan?

    Interesting shit. So the question begs, just who is Barack Obama working for? The military, industrial complex? The banks?

    He sure as hell ain’t working for you and me.

  13. bradfrmphnx says:

    I’m done with him. And I held out a long, long time, while trying to see some reasoning behind what he was doing. No longer…I’m through.

  14. TOM339 says:

    Obama claims all combat will be out of Afghanistan by the summer of 2011.

    I don’t buy it. I hope I’m wrong but, we’re building a new $1.5 billion dollar military base in Kabul. This doesn’t sound to me like an exit strategy.

    It sounds like more of the same.

Leave a Reply

