Belinda Carlisle Supports Gay Marriage Equality

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Singer Belinda Carlisle has filmed a PSA in support of gay marriage equality and asks for donations for Maine’s No on 1 campaign. In the video, Carlisle says she recorded the video as a musician but as a mom:

“My son, James, is gay, and I want him and every other gay person out there to have the same opportunities and rights that I’ve had in life.”

The Maine legislature extended marriage equality to same-sex couples in May, but opponents — with the help of the Catholic church, are working to overturn the law before it goes into effect. Carlisle, who lives in France, urges viewers to visit ProtectMaineEquality.org and make a donation.

“Together, let’s affirm equal rights for all Americans and give hope to young gay people, like my son, for a better future.”

Watch it:

Carlisle’s 17-year-old son, James Duke Mason, is a former congressional page and an outspoken proponent of gay rights. Mason has developed a following on Facebook and YouTube by urging young gays and lesbians to become politically active.

This entry was posted in Gay Marriage, LGBT, News, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Belinda Carlisle Supports Gay Marriage Equality

  1. Joe in Colorado says:

    I don’t think there was a teenage boy in the 1980’s that didn’t have a crush on Belinda Carlisle. The Go Go’s were the archetype of the “LA girl” and their music was just plain fun. I think it’s great she’s so supportive of her gay son. I didn’t even know she had a son. A class act.

  2. Aunt Peg says:

    As a mother, a grandmother, and aunt, this makes me smile and feel good about the world.

    I hope the parents of gay and lesbian children follow Belinda’s example and love and support their children and uphold their rights!

  3. Peace Nick says:

    What a great mom!

  4. Brigadoon says:

    I’m mad about Belinda Carlisle too and I wish she would school President Obama on marriage equality. I don’t recall him weighing in on the Catholic assault on marriage currently underway in Maine when he spoke to the champagne queers at the HRC Saturday night.

  5. bradfrmphnx says:

    I remember Belinda’s make over in the 80’s, when she got in shape and fixed herself up. She was jaw dropping beautiful then, and still is today. You can only admire and respect a Mom who supports her son and his political beliefs in such a manner.

  6. Pingback: Belinda Carlisle Supports Gay Marriage Equality « From the Left | MyGaySpot

  7. Tao says:

    I don’t have kids, but if I did I could only hope that I would be as supportive of a parent as Belinda is.

    A few years ago a young man who lived right down the street with his parents killed himself because of his sexual orientation….

    I knew that young man since he was a baby and I watched him grow up and he would come over all the time and help me around the house, he worked for my company during the summers, and he just liked to hang around….

    I always told him to be proud of himself, to never allow anyone to ever to question his self worth, to change him, or to belittle his character…..

    Since that morning when I stood there as they wheeled his body out of his parents home I vowed that I would do everything that I could do to make sure that this never happened to another young person again.

    I went to the office that very same day and ordered a flag to fly in his honor in front of my company and I went through our personnel manual and made sure that we had protected sexual orientation and that we offered same sex benefits….and I made sure that everyone KNEW that we did so.

  8. Harry says:

    James Duke Mason is a lucky young man to have a mother like Belinda Carlisle! Rock on, Belinda.

  9. Mets Fan says:

    How can Belinda Carlisle have a 17 year old son?

    I still think of her as one of the Go-Gos in the back of that convertible with the top down singing “Vacation.”

    Were the 1980’s that long ago? Phew! I feel old.

  10. DMason says:

    Belinda, will you be my mother? Mine died in 2000 and never really accepted my sexual orientation. She wasn’t unkind, just confused by me being gay. Oh well, thanks for being a stand-up example of an accepting and loving parent.

  11. Nan Yun says:

    A lovely woman and a fine example of a mother.

    Love your children, whether they’re gay or straight.

Leave a Reply

