Pastor Steven Anderson: “If you’re a homosexual, I hope you get brain cancer like Ted Kennedy”

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Sirius XM radio host Michelangelo Signorile did an excellent job yesterday exposing the ugly face of radical, antigay Christianity with his interview of Pastor Steven L. Anderson of Tempe, AZ.

Anderson has made quite a name for himself lately saying he prayers for President Obama to die and that “homosexuals,” among others, should be executed. Here’s a sample of the transcript:

MS: You want all gay people to be executed, correct?
SA: That is correct. It is what the Bible teaches.
MS: If somebody were to go out with a machine gun and spray down a crowd of gay and lesbian people, would you think that was okay?
SA: I would not think it’s okay because I believe in due process.
MS: Would that person be a murderer?
SA: No, I would not judge them as a murderer, no.

Toward the end of the interview, Signorile told Pastor Anderson he’s gay and the pastor went on blast:

MS: You know, I’m gay..I’m gay, and I don’t molest any children. What do you think of that?
SA: Well, I’d say you’re lying.
MS: You think I must be molesting children, right?
SA: Exactly, right.
MS: Do you pray that I’ll die tonight?
SA: If you’re a homosexual, I hope you get brain cancer like Ted Kennedy.

Watch it:

This entry was posted in Antigay, Kooks, Michelangelo Signorile, Religious Nutcases, Religious Right and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Pastor Steven Anderson: “If you’re a homosexual, I hope you get brain cancer like Ted Kennedy”

  1. anonymous says:

    Aren’t you glad that praying doesn’t actually work?

  2. Rockync says:

    I am horrified on a daily basis by what passes for “Christian” and/or “Godly” values and directives.
    I have yet to see an organized religion that actually expouses the teachings they claim to adhere to and so I’ll remain a deist – and happily so.

  3. Tao says:

    It is a beautiful day today and I marvel at the symmetry of nature….

    Then you read shit like this and you come away wondering what God was thinking when he decided to populate his/her kingdom with mankind…

    It just so ruins everything!

  4. Aunt Peg says:

    Someone said, “Never under estimate the destructive power of blind faith.”

    Truer words were never said.

    I can’t comprehend the evil in this man’s heart and soul. Pastor Anderson would’ve become a general for Hitler.

  5. Harry says:

    This man is one of the myriad of reasons why I long ago denounced Christianity and became a healthy, happy, well-adjusted atheist.

  6. Mauigirl says:

    What a piece of excrement this man is. He shouldn’t even be given the airtime to spew his hatefulness.

  7. As a Christian, please know that there are many of us, who despise what this man spews. Obviously Anderson is someone who is dealing with some servere sexuality issues but it’s sad to see someone like that. I’ll pray for him.

  8. Calvin B says:

    What a dumb preacher! HAHA! OMG! I cant beleive this man is allowed to preach in religious setting. Hope nothing happens to em ha!

  9. jimmy says:

    The amount of untreated mental illness in this country, particularly among fundamentalists, is troubling.

  10. Which is why we need health care reform. Get that man some thorazine!

  11. Brigadoon says:

    It’s been my experience with these Bible thumpers are a lot like junkyard dogs. You only need to poke them a little and they immediately go vicious and display their true colors. You see, they think they’re infallible because the Bible informs their hatred. I think they are dangerous and should be locked up.

  12. woyoyo says:

    Asshole.

    I’d like to stick his Bible where the sun don’t shine.

  13. bradfrmphnx says:

    He is an extremist. And they are dangerous. I am a Deist so I don’t give any theist based religion credibility. But I don’t judge people on what they do or don’t beieve.

    I look at Christian religions like the Lutherans and am happy that they are moving forward with eliminating prejudice from their doctrine.

    This tool is looked upon with utter disdain by most Phoenicians. Coupled with the looney who took his AR-15 to Obama’s speech, and we are getting a bad name. Truthfully, there are a lot of wingnuts here, but most people in Phoenix, and in AZ are decent people. In a recent poll 68% disagreed with the guy for taking the AR-15, 95% thinks Steven Anderson is…well…shit for brains.

  14. Jim says:

    Spoken like a true religious nut case. A real head case. This guy should take a house by the sea with the nuts from Kansas.

  15. there is no hope for people like him or fred phelps – they are lost causes. they are not human, they are not christians, they are nothing but shit – i wont pray for him, but i will wish something on him

    and it aint happy birthday

    problem is while we think giving him airtime exposes his insanity – i think it reinforces the nut jobs

  16. JollyRoger says:

    In a recent poll 68% disagreed with the guy for taking the AR-15,

    That means 32% don’t. That is a disturbingly high number.

  17. Rob says:

    I wonder if this guy is fighting some secret desires. That would explain his behavior.

  18. Pingback: What is Murder? | Queer Look at the Bible

  19. bradfrmphnx says:

    JollyRoger…yes, it is still disturbingly high. But their arguement, be it good or bad, is that it wasn’t breaking any law in AZ. You have the right to carry a firemarm anywhere in the state except into a drinking establishment, or a national park. Of that 32 %, the majority admitted that they wouldn’t do it and that it wasn’t necessary. They just felt that he was within his right.

    I guess everyone feels like they have rights. I only wish the folks on the right could understand that. If they feel like they have the right to carry a gun around everywhere, why do they take away the rights of homosexuals to be treated equally under the law?

    I am not giving excuses for anybody here. I think most know how I feel. Arizonan’s are good people. There are good and bad everywhere. This state has a lot to offer and I hope people take that into account.

  20. Pingback: WTF! Wednesday #39 « My 2 Cents

  21. LaurieH says:

    I cannot believe someone like this is allowed to preach this bs.

    He is a total nutcase and the pastor may want to remember this “paybacks can be a bitch.”

    People like this are just down right scary!

  22. libhomo says:

    Chistianity kills!

  23. kwahlgren says:

    These are his individual views, he doesn’t speak for true Christians. He made an outlandish comment, would you call out a gay activist who makes a inappropriate remark against Christianity?

  24. Zinjonovicstrings says:

    I agree with Pastor Anderson.

  25. Zinjonovicstrings says:

    WHat is a “TRUE” Christian anyway?! Peace, Love and Happiness!!! God doesn’t hate ANYTHING. Garbage, God hates, also. Read your Bible, you “True” Christian.

  26. madhatter02 says:

    I’m just going to throw this out there, that if you’re a freaking pastor, arent you supposed to promote acceptance?! and plus if you’re so concerned aobut children, why the hell would you say that you hope someone gets brain cancer!? I’m bi, and a CATHOLIC! And i sure as hell know i’m not a child molestor because I’m still considered a child. I would like to see the place he gets this mother f*&^ing bull.

  27. Dre D says:

    i see people just love acceptance from one another, how sad. The bible is infallible so you can all gather around talking about how athiesm is the way to go and christians are evil blah blah. Im with Pastor Anderson, whatever he says is always right. If anyone has a problem here that’s cool but if anyone wants to start throwing rude comments around holla at me im happy to go toe-to-toe with any unbeliever 🙂

  28. Anne says:

    This man needs to be excommunicated, arrested and psychologically tested. I wish there were a law against preachers like him.

  29. Booblie Bob says:

    Steven Anderson is correct. Homos are sickening. Read the bible and you see this perverted behavior is not tolerated.

  30. Be your own God! says:

    Dr. D,
    It is sad when men say that the Bible is infalable. It is written by men years after the Death of Christ. How do you apply something like that to todays world. You are being glib and small if you think that just you believing in your god will make you Christian like. Be the best person you can be even when no one is looking. Don’t talk down to people especialy if you love them. Read your words before submitting them…You can’t go Toe to Toe with this Gay, Proffesional, KIWANIAN (Yes I help kids and I don’t think about them in a preditory manner.) I had shitty parents like you that spewed this crap my whole life…Then I grew up and realized I don’t want to be the kind of person that spews hateful things to any one …even you.

  31. Waya says:

    The Bible does say homosexual behavior is wrong but I don’t believe I saw where it said to shoot them. You have to wonder what is going on when you see so called spiritual leaders like Rev. Wright and this Pastor spewing such hatred. I believe I will just stay with my so called savage beliefs of the American Indian. Much more pure.

  32. Concerned Christian says:

    As a Long time Christian I an horrified at the comments from Mr Anderson. The things that he is teaching are not from our Lord Jesus. The Lord teaches forgiveness and love not hate.
    But, please be careful not to judge all Christians by Mr Anderson, just as you wouldn’t judge an entire neighborhood by just one resident, you shouldn’t judge all Christians by Mr Anderson.

  33. JG says:

    The bible also says it’s ok to have slaves, men should not speak with menstruating women and many other completely outdated ideals.

  34. Dude At The Center Of the Galaxy says:

    Fred Phelps, Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini, Steven Anderson, Osama bin Laden, the Thugee cult of India, Pat Robertson, Papa Doc Duvalier, Slobodan Milosevic, Francisco Franco, Adolph Hitler – all these people have commited serious crimes and wrongdoing in the name of God, religion or hatred against a certain religion. They’ve done it while posing as Christians, Muslims, Hindus and such – and they’ve killed and persecuted Christians, Muslims, Jews, etc. as well. Who’s the fanatical hatemonger murderer among all these listed names? TAKE YOUR PICK.

  35. Frank in Castaic says:

    Christianity has been on in self-destruct mode for a hundred years. With comments like these made by Pastor Steven Anderson coupled with the global, pedophile priest sex scandal, I envision a world a hundred years from today when the majority of human beings self-identify as atheists. Should this happens, Christianity only has itself to blame.

  36. jerryball says:

    Every time I listen to one of these so-called believers in the quaint history of ancient Semitic Desert Dwellers from the times before Christ, I shake my head that someone from the 21st Century actually believes 5,000 BC ancient thinking. WTF do these mentally deficient creatures think can come from ancient beliefs and irrelevant histories from pagan and pre-pagan days? It defies common sense.

  37. Jack in Colorado says:

    I have no intention of attacking the gay community, God loves everyone. But as to the comments made by jerryball I just have to say that he apparently doesn’t understand the Holy Bible or GOD.
    The Bible isn’t a book of ancient thinking, it is very current, it contains lessons that apply to peoples lives everyday and the reason for that is that GOD is the living GOD and exits in the past, the present and the future. And as to the “mentally deficient creatures” jerryball speaks of, he really shouldn’t talk about someone he doesn’t know and about something he has no understanding of. In 1 Corintians chapter 1, verses 17 thru 31 you will find the explanation. People who are of this world and not of the Kingdom of GOD cannot understand without GOD’s help. Verse 19: ” For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding of the prudent”. Verse 20: “Where is the wise? where is the scribe? where is the disputer of this world? hath not GOD made foolish the wisdom of this world?” Verse 21: For after that in the wisdom of GOD the world by wisdom knew not GOD, it pleased GOD by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe’. GOD doesn’t need you to believe in HIM so HE can exist. HE exists despite your unbelief. And HE will not force you to believe, but He waits for you to come to HIM simply because HE loves each and everyone of us.

  38. Jack in Colorado,

    Are you Jewish? I ask because Jewish people write the name “God” in all upper-case letters.

    In any event, you can post Bible scripture until your fingers fall off but you are off topic. The topic of this thread is the hate-speech from radical, antigay Christianity with his interview of Pastor Steven L. Anderson of Tempe, AZ, who wishes gay people get cancer.

    If you’re going to post here, please stay on topic. My blog is not a blank slate for you to post unrelated Scripture.

    Christopher
    Editor/Owner

  39. Anthony says:

    Well that blew my mind. I think the preacher is smart in many ways, and was poked and prodded along, but not to say what he did. It is sad compassion isn’t one of the qualities. I consider myself Christian and that wasn’t very nice. I have and have had (hopefully) cancer.. two different kinds, one incurable. Biblically is it wrong to be to a homosexual, or as one of my good friends say, queer? Yes. Then again, so is lying, stealing, coveting, cheating, usury (interest on money), judging, hate, pride, adultery, etc, etc…. I think I’ve just covered us all and definitely what runs our country and most countries. Funny, I have several friends and family that with his statement he would wish cancer on because of their choice of lifestyles, ones I trust with my kids and pray the be more like them, for their hearts are good. I don’t understand their choice of partners but they probably don’t understand mine either. We understand we have good hearts. That isn’t Christian to hate. One of the best parts of being Christian is I am responsible for my actions, my choices… nobody else. I see no problem with a country founded on Christianity, but I do see potential problems on man’s ability to interpret them. Thus separation of church and state is good. I pray that he sees his err and apologizes to the radio host, and to God. On behalf of Christians that are straight, I apologize for what he said. God is love. Peace.

  40. John Donegan says:

    Pastor Steven Anderson has some good theological teachings, especially on post tribulation rapture. His zeal seems honest in reaching the lost for Christ and he tries to uphold the gospel message to the highest levels. However he fails in embracing certain extremities like voicing his desire for the elimination of homosexuals and even world leaders. He lacks self control, meekness, kindness, and compassion for certain groups of people and he is dealing with rage within himself. These things do not mean he is not a Christian. The bible teaches us about a prophet named Jonah who hated and wished death upon the people of Nineveh because of their transgressions against the Jews. When God ordered Jonah to preach the message of salvation to the Ninevites Jonah flat out refused and disobeyed God. His greatest desire was for God to destroy them all. In the end he was chastised and after a transformation in his heart he did preach that strong message of repentance, love, and hope, and the people of Nineveh repented and were spared God’s wrath. Pastor Anderson needs this same transformation to occur in his heart and I believe either God will do that work in him or remove him from the pulpit, because right now he is a serious harm to Christianity. We are explicitly taught to love the lost and preach the hard truth with tolerance and kindness. I pray that pastor Anderson repents and goes to a good theological seminary and becomes an ordained minister with the proper training and tools to deal with people

  41. James says:

    Amen. Religion is supposed to be about LOVE, not brutally forced conformity.

Leave a comment