Bye, Bye, Evan Bayh

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Former Hillary Clinton surrogate, Sen. Evan Bayh, is frequently rumored to be on Barack Obama’s short list for vice president.

The milquetoast Indiana senator was never my top choice for Obama. So the news that Bayh looks to be embroiled in a potential conflicts-of-interest from his wife’s work on seven corporate boards that paid her more than $837,000 last year rendering him unvettable, doesn’t bother me in the least.

According to Bloomberg:

Susan Bayh, a lawyer, is a director at Indianapolis-based WellPoint, Inc., which is part of a medical research partnership awarded a $24.7 million dollar Federal grant in May after Evan Bayh and his Indiana colleagues in Congress recommended the group to the National Institutes of Health. Oops.

She’s also on the board of E*Trade Bank, while her husband sits on the Senate Banking Committee.

Susan Bayh is lead director at Emmis Communications Corp., an Indianapolis radio-station operator that published Evan Bayh’s 2003 memoir. Who knew Evan Bayh had enough to fill a memoir?

James Thurber, the director of American University’s Center for Congressional and Presidential Studies said it best:

“When you’re vetting a vice president and his wife is on seven boards, that is a serious question of conflict of interest on a whole variety of issues.”

This entry was posted in Barack Obama, Election 2008 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Bye, Bye, Evan Bayh

  1. Estacada says:

    I am no fan of Bayh.

    I think he brings nothing to the Obama team and in fact, with this announcement, if Obama chose Bayh, his first term would start off sullied in scandal.

    Biden’s star seems to be shining the brightest.

  2. Harry says:

    Anyone but Hillary. Anyone.

  3. JollyRoger says:

    Sounds like business as usual to me. Has everyone forgotten who (as one example) Tom Daschle’s wife is?

  4. ChiTOM says:

    I can’t tell you how much anticipation there is here in Chicagoland surrounding Barack’s vice president choice.

    Of course, no one really know except Barack and Michelle but that hasn’t stopped the speculation about the selection.

    Evan Bayh’s name was never seriously thought to be in contention. He seemed to be more a creation of the media. Tim Kaine’s name does little to excite the base either. Joe Biden’s name seems to fit best and his foreign policy gravitas would well serve an Obama administration.

    So, we should be receiving emails tomorrow or Thursday with the announcement.

  5. Gryphen says:

    Watching Bayh on television is kind of like watching paint dry.

    But not as exciting.

  6. R.J. says:

    The people in Indiana that I know speak highly of Bayh, but this one’s going to leave a mark. I guess you can strike him off the list.

  7. ChiTOM says:

    Oh, I forgot to mention this.

    Chicagoland for Obama has raised an impressive $262,114.93 to date. Props and a shout out to Chicago!

  8. taco says:

    Watching Bayh on television is kind of like watching paint dry. But not as exciting.

    I was thinking Bayh is like a bowl of oatmean but without the salt and sugar.

    Bayh is the type who would give Hillary her monthly Brazil wax so she can save $50.

  9. enigma4ever says:

    good find on Bayh….I think gryphen got it right about how exciting he is…..anyways…I still think it is going to be between Biden and Wesley Clark…..

  10. Aunt Peg says:

    I sure hope Obama doesn’t let himself get sucked into this party unity BS and select Hillary.

    If he were to do that, I am not at all sure I could hold my nose and vote for him and I really want to vote for him.

    But the fact is, I so detest Lady Clinton that I could end up sitting this election out and just waiting until 2012. I know, I know, it isn’t rational but after the primary, I will never be able to forgive the Clintons for their tactics and behavior.

  11. Robert Rouse says:

    As a Hooiser, i was always a big fan of Bayh. Birch Bayh that is. When Evan Bayh was initially considering a run for the White House, he invited myself and a few other bloggers to lunch. I flat out told him that I could not support someone who – at the time – was still not opposed to the Iraq War and that his backing of the flag burning amendment told me that he didn’t care about the Bill of Rights and freedom of speech. I don’t understand why I never received another luncheon invite.

  12. Conejo1982 says:

    I’ve read Obama and John Kerry and BFFs.

    Plus, Kerry has ties to the Kennedy mantle and more importantly, to Ted Kennedy. Any chance Obama could decide to go this way?

    The only negative I see with Kerry is, he’s a reminder of the failed 2004 effort to unseat Bush and Cheney and many Dems are still angry with him for running a very flawed campaign.

  13. TOM339 says:

    Robert Rouse,

    The flag burning amendment is what the Washington Post said brought Evan Bayh and Hillary Clinton together.

    They worked on it together to get it passed thru the US Senate. Much to the delight of NASCAR Nation, the religious right and red state America.

    Until this embarrassing episode, I admit to never hearing the name “Evan Bayh.”

  14. retahyajyajav says:

    It’s Biden. An astrologer even said so.

  15. Idaho Librul says:

    I really don’t know anything about Evan Bayh.

    So it’s probably not fair to say this but, the first time I remember seeing him was when he appeared with Hillary at some event during the primary.

    I thought he was probably a Clinton staffer or maybe her assistant. He just never struck me as a senator or a Congressman.

    If Chelsea were still a toddler, Bayh could be her manny.

  16. Walk on Socks says:

    Too bad Obama’s veep couldn’t be someone totally outside the box like Michael Phelps.

    I know he’s “just a swimmer,” but at 6′ 4″, with those big ears and size 14 feet, I can’t stop thinking about him and I would like it if he was our next vice president.

  17. Peace Nick says:

    Michael Phelps feets are size 14?

    Dang!

  18. Randy Arroyo says:

    I never thought Bayh was a serious contender for veep. He’s a lightweight and brings nothing to the ticket.

Leave a Reply

